Rural Health Researchers (by location)

Research administration team

NamePositionContact
Lisa Lavey Research Administration Manager lisa.lavey@monash.edu
5440 9082 
Janelle McGrail Administration support janelle.mcgrail@monash.edu
5128 1016 

Researchers by location

Locations: Bairnsdale |   Bendigo |   Churchill |   Clayton |   Mildura |   Moe | Traralgon

Prospective PhD supervisors are marked with an asterisk (*). See listing by researcher name.

Mildura
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
Jenny Timmis Lecturer  jenny.timmis@monash.edu
+613 5440 9009
Dr Anthony Weller Senior Lecturer Preventive medicine, paediatrics, palliative care, simulation education, pedagogy anthony.weller@monash.edu 
+613 5440 9097 
Associate Professor Fiona Wright Associate Professor Health workforce development, especially in rural areas, rural health service provision/equity fiona.wright@monash.edu 
+613 5022 5529 
Bendigo
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
Adele Callaghan Senior Lecturer & PhD student Interpretive qualitative research, constructivist and constructionist theory, simulation and transition to practice in medicine, clinical skills in medical education, curriculum development and evaluation adele.callaghan@monash.edu
+613 5440 9063 
Dr Marita Chisholm* Research Fellow Access, ageing, dementia, retention, rural Health, rural Health workforce marita.chisholm@monash.edu
+613 5440 9038 
Pam Harvey Lecturer Involving Simulated Patients in medical education, incorporating medical humanities in medical education, clinical reasoning development in health professional students, using clinician stories in health professional education, bibliotherapy in schools pam.harvey@monash.edu
+613 5440 9083 
Associate Professor Chris Holmes Associate Professor Clinical research: anaemia in chronic dialysis patients, Educational research: attitudes to learning in newly graduated medical practitioners, clinical skills development and simulated learning environments chris.holmes@monash.edu
+613 5440 9032 
Emeritus Professor John Humphreys Emeritus Professor Rural-urban health differences and the pattern of need for health care in rural areas, rural health workforce supply, recruitment and retention, the provision of sustainable primary health care services in rural areas, the evaluation of rural health planning and policies john.humphreys@monash.edu
Associate Professor Rebecca Kippen* Associate Professor of Demography (Research) Demography, life course analysis, mortality, population forecasting, population studies, rural health, sex selection technology rebecca.kippen@monash.edu
+613 5440 9018 
Dr Deborah Russell* Research Fellow Allied health, workforce retention, primary health care, rural health deborah.russell@monash.edu
+613 5440 9046
Dr Belinda O'Sullivan* Research Fellow Rural health policy, health systems, workforce training and development, recruitment and retention, rural health service models and program evaluation belinda.osullivan@monash.edu 
+613 5440 9062 
Dr Bernadette Ward* Senior Research Fellow Alcohol and young people, access and integration in primary health care, health services research capacity building, rural and remote health bernadette.ward@monash.edu 
+613 5440 9064 
Clayton
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
Professor Robyn Langham* Professor & Head of School The molecular analysis of human kidney diseases, establishing opportunities for translational research and on the development of new therapies for the treatment of chronic kidney disease robyn.langham@monash.edu 
+613 9905 5900 
Moe
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
Dr Melinda Goodyear* Research Fellow Parenting, family mental health, family resilience, mental health workforce, translation to practice melinda.goodyear@monash.edu 
+613 990 56115 
Dr Hanan Khalil* Senior Lecturer Evidence-based healthcare, medication management in aged care, diabetes management hanan.khalil@monash.edu 
+613 5128 1013 
Sarah Lee Research Assistant Families affected by parental mental illness, trauma and treatment and outcomes of people with common mental disorders sarah.lee1@monash.edu 
+613 5128 1027 
Professor Darryl Maybery* Professor Rural Mental Health Theoretical and applied research in relation to families where a parent has a mental illness, rural mental health and resilience darryl.maybery@monash.edu 
Dr Eli Ristevski* Lecturer Cancer care, supportive care in cancer, cancer survivorship, chronic disease management, health service policy and practice, implementation science, qualitative research methods eli.ristevski@monash.edu 
+613 5128 1017 
Dr Keith Sutton* Researcher Rural mental health workforce, mental health workforce, recovery, social inclusion, mental health policy keith.sutton@monash.edu 
+613 5128 1031 
Dr Susan Waller* Senior Lecturer Interprofessional, collaboration, paediatric physiotherapy, disability, clinical education, rural health, comunity health, chronic disease management, simulation susan.waller@monash.edu 
+613 5128 1025 
Churchill
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
Associate Professor Shane Bullock* Associate Professor Medical education, evaluation, assessment and student selection shane.bullock@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7391 
Dr Matthew Carroll* Senior Research Fellow Healthy ageing, lifelong learning, social isolation and older people, aged and community care, sleep and ageing, older people and climate change matthew.carroll@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7604 
Dr Adelle McArdle* Lecturer Breastfeeding and issues surrounding breastfeeding including lactational mastitis, developmental origins of health and adult disease, maternal and child health, medical education research adelle.mcardle@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7656 
Dr Matthew McGrail* Senior Research Fellow Rural health workforce, access to health care, health services research, GIS methodologies in health, health workforce policy / incentives, advanced quantitative methodologies matthew.mcgrail@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7394 
Dr David Reser Lecturer Claustrum, functional networks, sensory systems, cerebral cortex, neuroanatomy david.reser@monash.edu 
+613 9902 7393 
Dr Margaret Simmons* Lecturer Rural health, narrative analysis and less traditional forms of representation, gender and rural issues, ageing and notions of home and migration margaret.simmons@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7257
Dr Marianne Tare* Lecturer Developmental origins of health and disease, local and regional regulation of vascular tone, maternal and child health, medical education, vascular electrophysiology marianne.tare@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7485 
Professor Judi Walker* Professor Rural health ageing, rural medical education, rural health workforce, rural health services, interprofessional education and practice, rural health innovations and reform judi.walker@monash.edu 
+613 990 20466 
Traralgon
NamePositionResearch interestsContact
David Birks Senior Lecturer Medical education, non technical skills, anatomy, work based assessment david.birks@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7554 
Bill Haigh Assistant Lecturer Medical education in general, rural medical education delivery models, remote delivery of medical education, simulation training manikin, simulation training virtual, telehealth delivery models bill.haigh@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7595 
Dr Cathy Haigh* Senior Lecturer Learning in the clinical workplace, assessment in the clinical workplace, development of clinical reasoning skills, patient safety cathy.haigh@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7238 
Dr Anton Isaacs* Senior Lecturer Mental health services research, aboriginal suicide prevention anton.isaacs@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7236 
Anne Leversha Senior Lecturer Medical education, pharmacy education, rural health anne.leversha@monash.edu 
+613 9903 9620 
Bairnsdale
Contact PositionResearch interestsContact
Associate Professor David Campbell Associate Professor Rural workforce, rural community-based education, inter-professional education david.campbell@monash.edu  
+613 5150 3613 
Jennie Casey Lecturer Interprofessional education, educating medical students in aged care, the role of alternative therapies in mainstream medicine jennie.casey@monash.edu 
+613 9902 7248 
Marnie Connolly Senior Lecturer Simulation, resuscitation, longitudinal clinical placements, interprofessional education marnie.connolly@monash.edu 
+613 5150 3615 
Dr Angelo D'Amore* Senior Lecturer Cardiovascular, continuing education, education and pedagogy, health promotion, learning styles, primary health care, program evaluation, rural education, rural health, rural health workforce shortage angelo.d'amore@monash.edu 
+613 9902 7188 
Dr Jane Greacen Senior Lecturer General practice, occupational medicine jane.greacen@monash.edu 
+613 5150 3613 
Dr Eleanor Mitchell* Lecturer Rural and indigenous health, primary health care and population health, community and health program evaluations, interprofessional learning, learning styles, teaching and pedagogy in higher education, research translation,evidence informed practice eleanor.mitchell@monash.edu 
+613 5122 7187 

Page maintained by janelle.mcgrail@monash.edu