Management Team

Team memberRoleEmail
Professor Patrick Kwan Co-Director patrick.kwan@monash.edu
Professor John Forsythe Co-Director john.forsythe@monash.edu
Professor Chris Bain Management Lead: Faculty of IT chris.bain@monash.edu
Professor Daphne Flynn Management Lead: Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture  daphne.flynn@monash.edu
A/Professor Elizabeth Sigston Associate Clinical Director liz@elizabethsigston.com
Andrew Carey Program Manager andrew.carey@monash.edu
Victoria Koutsoubos Executive Officer victoria.koutsoubos@monash.edu
Madison Hartill-Law Women in Leadership Program Manager madison.hartill-law@monash.edu
Amanda Boshier Media and Communications Manager amanda.boshier@monash.edu
Patrick Kwan

Professor Patrick Kwan

Co-Director
Monash Institute of Medical Engineering (MIME)

Patrick Kwan is a Professor of Neurology in the Department of Neuroscience within the Central Clinical School of Monash University, and Consultant Neurologist and Director of the Epilepsy Unit at Alfred Health. He is a medical specialist in neurology and an international authority in epileptology.

Professor Kwan’s research portfolio encompasses both applied basic science and clinical aspects to improve the treatment outcomes of epilepsy. His research is focused on understanding the long-term treatment outcomes, mechanisms of epileptogenesis and drug resistance, and genomics and pharmacogenomics of epilepsy. He has a particular interest in harnessing technologies to solve clinical problems, including machine learning and stem cell approaches for personalised medicine, and novel assays and biosensors for point-of-care in vitro diagnosis.

John Forsythe

Professor John Forsythe

Co-Director
Monash Institute of Medical Engineering (MIME)

Professor John Forsythe is a research leader in the field of biomaterials engineering - particularly in the area of neural tissue engineering which explores the use of biomaterials and cells to rewire neural circuitry following injury. His extensive experience in biomaterials has laid the foundation for the development of injectable and nanostructured scaffolds to reduce inflammation in the brain and promote nerve regeneration. His research shows great promise to improve the lives of individuals with stroke, traumatic brain injury and neurodegeneration and is also highly relevant to new bionic devices.

Professor Forsythe has led numerous ARC and NHRMC funded research programs in innovative biomaterials and was previously a chief investigator in the Monash Vision Group (MVG). He has worked with industry and multi-disciplinary teams and held leadership roles in the CRC for Polymers where he worked closely with industry partners and received awards for commercialisation.

Professor Forsythe has received research funding in excess of $20M and has directed large, multi-disciplinary research programs to successful outcomes. Professor Forsythe enjoys mentoring and educating students in biomedical engineering, as well as working on projects that have great life and world-changing potential.