Management Team

Team memberRoleEmail
Professor Helena Teede Co-Director helena.teede@monash.edu
Professor John Forsythe Co-Director john.forsythe@monash.edu
Professor Chris Bain Management Lead: Faculty of IT chris.bain@monash.edu
Professor Daphne Flynn Management Lead: Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture  daphne.flynn@monash.edu
Associate Professor Elizabeth Sigston Associate Clinical Director liz@elizabethsigston.com
Andrew Carey Program Manager andrew.carey@monash.edu
Victoria Koutsoubos Executive Officer victoria.koutsoubos@monash.edu
Madison Hartill-Law Women in Leadership Program Manager madison.hartill-law@monash.edu
Amanda Boshier Media and Communications Manager amanda.boshier@monash.edu
Helena Teede

Professor Helena Teede

Co-Director
Monash Institute of Medical Engineering (MIME)

Professor Helena Teede is Executive Director of Monash Partners Academic Health Sciences Centre. She led the establishment and was the inaugural chair of the Australian Health Research Alliance, across all NHMRC accredited Centres. She is the Director of Monash Partners Academic Health Science Centre and of the Monash Centre for Health Research and Implementation, School of Public Health, Monash University. She is an Endocrinologist at Monash Health and an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow.

Professor Teede has held leadership roles in health care, research, translation, policy settings, and with the not for profit sector. She is a member of the Academy of Health and Medical Sciences. She undertakes large scale research and translation in clinical research, data driven healthcare improvement and epidemiology, and public health including use of IT in healthcare innovation. Professor Teede is the chair of the Australian Health Research Alliance data driven healthcare improvement initiative and was recently appointed as the co-director of the Monash Institute of Medical Engineering where she will provide strategic leadership and research direction.

John Forsythe

Professor John Forsythe

Co-Director
Monash Institute of Medical Engineering (MIME)

Professor John Forsythe is a research leader in the field of biomaterials engineering - particularly in the area of neural tissue engineering which explores the use of biomaterials and cells to rewire neural circuitry following injury. His extensive experience in biomaterials has laid the foundation for the development of injectable and nanostructured scaffolds to reduce inflammation in the brain and promote nerve regeneration. His research shows great promise to improve the lives of individuals with stroke, traumatic brain injury and neurodegeneration and is also highly relevant to new bionic devices.

Professor Forsythe has led numerous ARC and NHRMC funded research programs in innovative biomaterials and was previously a chief investigator in the Monash Vision Group (MVG). He has worked with industry and multi-disciplinary teams and held leadership roles in the CRC for Polymers where he worked closely with industry partners and received awards for commercialisation.

Professor Forsythe has received research funding in excess of $20M and has directed large, multi-disciplinary research programs to successful outcomes. Professor Forsythe enjoys mentoring and educating students in biomedical engineering, as well as working on projects that have great life and world-changing potential.