Magdalenna Krstevska

Inspired by the global disruption and chaos of 2020, clarinetist Magdalenna Krstevska presents a series of works surrounding themes of uncertainty, fleeing, displacement and taking flight.

Ulpirra – Ross Edwards (1993)
Wings – Joan Tower (1981)
Sonata for Clarinet Solo – Edison Denisov (1972)
Sonata for Clarinet & Piano Op. 28 – Mieczysław Weinberg (1945)
Magdalenna Krstevska, Clarinet
Leigh Harrold, Piano

From the bird-like calls reminiscent of the Australian bush in Ross EdwardsUlpirra, to Joan Tower’s Wings, the bird acts a symbol of the shifting nature of things, how instantaneously one’s flight can change direction, soaring above, a sense of timelessness, freedom.

Wings follows the flight of a large bird, at times barely moving as it flies very high, gliding along the thermal currents, and at other moments, looping around in elaborate flight patterns, diving downwards and gaining tremendous speeds.” – Joan Tower

‘Flight’ takes on a different meaning with music from Soviet composers Edison Denisov and Mieczysław Weinberg.

A non-conformist Russian composer, Edison Denisov had his fair share of disapproval from the Soviet authorities, due to his avant-garde and highly exploratory music. Nevertheless, he persisted in pushing musical boundaries, and his Sonata for Clarinet Solo has become a cornerstone of the clarinet repertoire of the late 20th century. Highly mathematical in its notation, it explores timbral effects that were barely considered possible on the instrument, and is full of moments of tragedy, bitterness, panic, and protest.

Mieczysław Weinberg, a Polish Jew, fled for his life twice during the Nazi invasions of the Second World War. Leaving behind his family, never to see them again, he escaped to the Soviet Union. There he met and befriended Dmitri Shostakovich, moving on his insistence to Moscow, where he wrote his Sonata for Clarinet and Piano Op. 28 in 1945.

Despite the deep suffering that Weinberg had experienced, there is a great vibrancy and warmth in this work. One can hear the influence of Shostakovich’s music throughout, yet the music has a very different quality – it is imbued with a sense of optimism. After a journey interspersed with profound pain and lament, there is ultimately a feeling of hope.

Joined by Leigh Harrold at the piano
Ticket Prices
General: $15.00
I am adding a little extra to support Magdalenna: $25.00
I am watching with a small group of people: $50.00
No Exchanges/ No Refunds

Running Time
Approximately fifty minutes

Similar events


Sound Gallery Sessions

Wed 02 Dec 2020

David Li Sound Gallery

Sound Gallery Sessions

We’re back with our live streamed series the Sound Gallery Sessions and we’ve saved the best for last! We want to thank each and every one of you for supporting …


Christmas with Ludwig

Monash Academy Orchestra

Fri 18 Dec 2020

Alexander Theatre

Christmas with Ludwig

Celebrate Christmas and Ludwig Beethoven’s 250th birthday with a live stream from the Alexander Theatre. The Monash Academy Orchestra will perform Beethoven’s exhilarating 1st Piano Concerto, Deborah Cheetham’s Welcome to …

Classical Music

Genevieve Lacey
Birds of Paradise

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Fri 16 Apr 2021

Robert Blackwood Hall

Genevieve Lacey
Birds of Paradise

Acclaimed Australian recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey is set to astonish in this program celebrating the simple sweetness of birdsong, following its musical influence from Baroque to modern day. FEATURING Melbourne …

Classical Music