Skip to content

MSDI Research Assistant Wins Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship


Monash Sustainable Development Institute Research Assistant Jarrod Grainger-Brown has been awarded a prestigious Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship.

The Westpac Scholars Trust announced its 2019 Westpac Future Leaders Scholars on February 26, awarding over $2 million to 17 outstanding postgraduate students who are investigating solutions to some of Australia’s most complex issues.

As part of the scholarship, Jarrod - who is also completing a Master of International Development Practice, International/Global Studies at Monash - will undertake a PhD at MSDI, investigating how the Sustainable Development Goals can be integrated into urban and city planning.

“Currently, I am interested in the challenge of managing an increasingly urbanised world,” Jarrod said.

"My research will provide a planning model for the Australian context that incorporates population expansion and environmental sustainability using the Sustainable Development Goals as a guiding framework,” he explained.

“This model could be applied directly in Australian cities, improving the lives and livelihoods for all city dwellers.”

Each scholarship recipient will receive up to $120,000 to cover their postgraduate studies, a nine-month bespoke leadership development program and the opportunity to study abroad

“This is a prestigious scholarship program attracting some of Australia’s brightest and most innovative young leaders,” said Westpac Scholars Trust CEO, Susan Bannigan.

“Amongst our 2019 recipients we have doctors, teachers, engineers and an aspiring neuroscientist - all working on research projects that have the potential to shape our future,” she added.

Beyond the financial investment of the scholarship, every Westpac Future Leaders Scholar gains lifelong access to the Westpac 100 Scholars Network. Growing by 100 scholars a year across the Westpac Scholars Trust’s five scholarship programs, the network connects a community of people from all walks of life with the ideas and drive to help shape a better future for all Australians.

The Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship is offered in partnership with The University of Adelaide, The Australian National University, The University of Melbourne, Monash University, The University of Queensland, The University of Sydney, University of Tasmania, University of New South Wales and University of Western Australia. It is one of five scholarships offered through the Westpac Scholars Trust, which awards 100 scholarships every year, forever.

For a full list of 2019 Westpac Future Leaders Scholars and to learn more about their studies, visit the Westpac Scholars Directory.