Monash University Toggle Search
Connecting-the-World_Louise-Weaver

Connecting the World through Sculpture

Dates:
7 July – 13 November 2021

Curator:
Charlotte Day

Connecting the World through Sculpture traces one journey among many possible routes through the Monash University Collection. Part of a yearlong program celebrating sixty years of the Collection, the exhibition presents six decades of sculpture across three separate iterations: From the Ground Up, The Sculptural Body and In the Air. Together, these chapters reveal the twists and turns that characterise changing sculptural practice, encompassing abstract, minimal and figurative work; hard metal and soft sculptures; cut-outs, carved and cast works; readymades; and works inspired by Conceptual and Pop art and the everyday.

The Monash University Collection is one of Australia’s most important collections of post-1960s Australian contemporary art. Among its most significant qualities is its focus on emerging artists and practices. Since its establishment—in the year that the first students walked through Monash’s newly opened doors—the Collection has been recognised for its adventurousness and contemporaneity. As custodian of the Collection, MUMA maintains this ethos, continually expanding the genre of artworks collected as well as committing to new types of artist-institutional relationships.

Connecting the World through Sculpture also provides an opportunity to recognise the generosity of private and public donors to the Collection, as well as its many advocates—not only the directors, curators and collection staff who have worked on the Collection, but its important associated art advisory and committee members and cross-University supporters. We acknowledge too the artists who have gifted their work.

From the Ground Up
Wednesday 7 July – Saturday 24 July

Featured artists: James Angus, Peter Cripps, Aleks Danko, Emily Floyd, Malu Gurruwiwi, Matt Hinkley, Inge King, Geoff Kleem, Nicholas Mangan, Noŋgirrŋa Marawili, Jan Nelson, Louise Paramor, Stuart Ringholt, Ron Robertson-Swann, Marcus Shanahan, Simone Slee, Kathy Temin, Tony Trembath and Louise Weaver

The Sculptural Body
Saturday 31 July – Saturday 21 August

Featured artists: Hany Armanious, Janet Burchill and Jennifer McCamley, James Deutscher, Joel Elenberg, Neil Emmerson, Lou Hubbard, Brendan Huntley, Kate James, Linda Marrinon, Anniebell Marrngamarrnga, Victor Meertens, Sanné Mestrom, Nabilah Nordin, Susan Norrie, Fiona Orr, Mike Parr, Patricia Piccinini, David Rosetzky, Mark Smith, Renee So, Darren Sylvester, Francis Upritchard and Ronnie van Hout

In the Air
Friday 5 November – Saturday 13 November

Featured artists: Lauren Berkowitz, Kate Beynon, Megan Cope, Mikala Dwyer, Mira Gojak, Susan Hawkins, James Lynch, Anne-Marie May, John Meade, Callum Morton, Robert Owen, Joshua Petherick and Koji Ryui

MAKING SPACE

The education program MAKING SPACE explores creative practice and thinking in response to the works on display in the three iterations of the Connecting the World through Sculpture. During the exhibition, workshops will be led by artists Donna Blackall, Tracey Lamb, Nabilah Nordin, Vipoo Srivilasa and Meredith Turnbull.

Image: Louise Weaver, Much Deeping (Column with Growth) 2011 (detail). Monash University Collection, Melbourne. Photo: Mark Ashkanasy

Related Programs
https://www.monash.edu/__data/assets/image/0010/2613628/Donna-Blackall-promo-image_580px.jpg
Making Space: Donna Blackall

Saturday 10 July, 2–4pm – fully booked

https://www.monash.edu/__data/assets/image/0009/2613627/cardboard-and-Timber-Tracey-Lamb_580px.jpg
Making Space: Tracey Lamb

Tuesday 20 July – fully booked
Wednesday 21 July – fully booked
Thursday 22 July – fully booked
Friday 23 July – fully booked

https://www.monash.edu/__data/assets/image/0003/2613630/Nabila-Nordin-Sculpture-House-033_580px.jpg
Making Space: Nabilah Nordin

Monday 2 August – fully booked
Wednesday 4 August – available
Monday 9 August – fully booked
Wednesday 11 August – available
Monday 16 August – available
Tuesday 17 August – fully booked
Wednesday 18 August – fully booked

https://www.monash.edu/__data/assets/image/0011/2613629/Meredith-Turnbull_580px.jpg
Making Space: Meredith Turnbull

Thursday 9 September – available
Friday 10 September – fully booked
Monday 13 September – available
Tuesday 14 September – available

Resources