Honorary doctorate awarded to leading adolescent and Indigenous health care professional

Professor Rowe

Professor Leanne Rowe AM with President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Gardner AO

The honorary degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa was conferred on Clinical Professor Leanne Rowe for her outstanding career in the fields of adolescent and Indigenous health and her extensive service to Monash University as a Council member and Deputy Chancellor.

Professor Rowe graduated from Medicine at Monash University in 1980 and through her extensive clinical experience, has developed a deep understanding of the public and private health systems in Australia.

This knowledge includes primary care, mental health, youth health, acute care, aged care and Indigenous health.  She was the founding clinical director of a health service for homeless and Indigenous youth in Geelong, and in 2007 was awarded an Order of Australia for service to medicine.

Monash University President and Vice-Chancellor, Professor Margaret Gardner AO, commended Clinical Professor Rowe on her exceptional contribution to medicine and longstanding service to the University.

“Professor Rowe’s outstanding commitment to medicine and extensive clinical experience has translated into improved health outcomes for many in the community,” Professor Gardner said.

“She has significantly contributed to the University through roles including Monash University Council member, Deputy Chancellor, and in her current position as Clinical Professor at Monash where she is developing a health initiative for doctors.”

Professor Rowe serves as a presiding member for medical panels, is a non-Executive Director for the Medical Indemnity Protection Society and a non-Executive Director of Medibank Private and beyondblue: the national depression initiative.

An honorary degree is the highest award the University can offer and is only conferred upon a small group of exceptionally distinguished individuals each year.

In 2016 those exceptional individuals include:

  • The Right Honourable the Lord Mayor of Melbourne, Robert Doyle, Doctor of Laws
  • Emeritus Professor Colin Bourke MBE, Doctor of Laws
  • Dr Raghunath Mashelkar FRS, Doctor of Laws
  • Mr Harold Mitchell AC, Doctor of Laws
  • Mrs Jeanne Pratt AC (link to article), Doctor of Laws
  • His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), Doctor Laws
  • Mr Ian Pyman AM, Doctor of Laws
  • Mr William (Bill) Scales AO, Doctor of Laws
  • Ms Elizabeth Proust AO, Doctor of Laws