Monash academics, alumni awarded prestigious 2021 Fulbright Scholarship

Ten Monash University academics, alumni and PhD student have been awarded prestigious 2021 Fulbright Scholarships, which facilitate innovative research and talent to improve Australians’ health, wellbeing and prosperity.

The Postdoctoral, Scholar and Professional Leadership awards enable recipients to undertake research and/or secondment at a US institute or university, while the Future Scholarship funds innovative, impact-focused projects.

Monash will also host US Fulbright recipient Professor Hobart Cleveland, from Pennsylvania State University, pending travel restrictions in 2022.

Monash University President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Gardner AC said the awards provided an exceptional opportunity to collaborate with some of the world’s greatest minds to help solve issues affecting people across the globe.

“This result is a wonderful acknowledgment of the commitment of Monash’s talented staff and past students to create meaningful change for the world’s biggest challenges,” she said.

“It also recognises the importance of exchanging ideas with peers, and we look forward to sharing our expertise with Professor Cleveland when international travel resumes.”

Congratulations to the Monash 2021 Fulbright Scholarship winners:


Dr Nathan Eva, Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship

Dr Yee Fui Ng, Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship

Dr Christine Grove, Fulbright Postdoctoral Scholarship


Dr Victoria Berquist, Fulbright Future Scholarship

Dr Edward Cliff, Fulbright Future Scholarship

Dr Mat Hardy, Fulbright Scholar Award

Dr Dean Hayden, Fulbright Future Scholarship

Dr Ned Latham, Fulbright Future Scholarship

Ms Bridi Rice, Fulbright Professional Scholarship in Non-Profit Leadership

Mr Aziz Awaludin, Fulbright Scholarship

PhD Student

Meg McFetridge, Fulbright Scholarship

Monash host of US recipient, 2022

Professor Hobart Cleveland, Pennsylvania State University, Fulbright Future Scholarship