Summer and the Festive Season: Monash University experts available

TOURISM AND TRAVEL

The concept of 'digital nomadism' and working remotely from holiday destinations, in regional centres or internationally via new Digital Nomad visas
Potential impacts of COVID-19 on the tourism economy

Dr Jeff Jarvis, Director, Graduate Tourism Program, Faculty of Arts
Contact details: +61 419 524 050 or Jeff.Jarvis@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Jarvis’ commentary at Monash Lens

LIFESTYLE

New ways of working post COVID-19 (eg returning to the office)

Dr Denise Goodwin, BehaviourWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 478 143 245 or Denise.Goodwin@monash.edu

Physical activity behaviour change (eg new year fitness and weight loss resolutions)
Dr Breanne Kunstler, BehaviourWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 405 366 124 or Brea.Kunstler@monash.edu

COVID-19 and behaviour change 
Life after lockdown
Keeping testing rates high

Dr Breanna Wright, Research Fellow, BehaviourWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 422 316 401 or Breanna.Wright@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Kunstler’s commentary at Monash Lens *Available from 4 January 2021

​Loneliness and social isolation among older Victorians has been intensified by the coronavirus
Ageism has been amplified with the pandemic – older people feel disposable and a burden 
How can technology help tackle loneliness for older Australians?
Virtual reality, robotics, apps and tablets for older Australians 
How can social sciences help with a post-COVID-19 recovery?

Dr Barbara Barbosa Neves, Sociology, Faculty of Arts
Contact details: +61 426 722 241 or Barbara.Barbosaneves@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Barbosa Neves’ commentary at Monash Lens *​Not available from 4-17 January 2021

Breaking habits in the New Year
Road safety including mobile phone use 

Associate Professor Peter Bragge, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 403 197 275 or Peter.Bragge@monash.edu

Personality and behaviour  
Conor Wynn, PhD Candidate, BehaviourWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 412 383 838 or Conor.Wynn@monash.ed

Hangover cures. There aren’t any!
Does alcohol have medicinal properties?

Professor Merlin Thomas, Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4840 or Merlin.Thomas@monash.edu

MARKETING AND RETAIL 
Cybersecurity and trusted online retail sources: how to stay safe online

Associate Professor Carsten Rudolph, Faculty of Information Technology
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4840 or Carsten.Rudolph@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Rudolph’s commentary at Monash Lens

HEALTH
Weight management and nutrition over ChristmasTravel NutritionGeneral health over the festive and summer period

Melissa Adamski, Lecturer in Nutrition and Dietetics
Contact details: +61 419 272 694 or media@monash.edu
*Not available from 18 December to 7 January 2021

Food waste at home, waste and consumption issues, behaviour change and sustainability issues
Mark Boulet, BehaviourWorks Australia, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 427 749 392 or Mark.Boulet@monash.edu
Read more of Mr Boulet’s commentary at Monash Lens Blood supplies and transfusion emergencies over the holiday period
Associate Professor Erica Wood, Head of Transfusion Research Unit
Contact details: +61 407 038 435 or Erica.Wood@monash.edu

Obesity and treatments, maintaining healthy weight-loss goals over Christmas
Cancer diagnoses during the Festive season

Associate Professor Wendy Brown, Department of Surgery
Contact details: +61 422 239 100 or Wendy.Brown@monash.edu

Covid-19 and epidemiological modelling
Associate Professor James Trauer, Head, Epidemiological Modelling Unit
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4840 or James.Trauer@monash.edu

Hospital and healthcare-associated infections and the prevention of hospital outbreaks
COVID-19

Associate Professor Philip Russo, Director, Cabrini Monash University Department of Nursing Research
Contact details: +61 411 659 486 or Philip.Russo@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Russo’s commentary at Monash Lens*Unavailable 23 December to 11 January 2021

MENTAL HEALTHChristmas time is a period of crisis for some
Mental health stress points and demands, coping and resilience over the festive season
Loneliness and social isolation, family/carer stress and workload
Alcohol and other drug use during COVID-19 and over the festive season

Dr Melissa Petrakis, Department of Social Work
Contact details: +61 438 784 596 or Melissa.Petrakis@monash.edu

Mental health and women’s health, isolation, consequences of physical distancing and fear of COVID-19 infection
Grief and disenfranchised grief, addictions to being busy
Professor Jane Fisher, The Jean Hailes Foundation
Contact details: +61 3 9594 7566 or Jane.Fisher@monash.edu
*Unavailable 22 December to 9 January 2021

Mental illness can worsen during the festive seasonChristmas can be a lonely time for some
Professor Jayashri Kulkarni, Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre (MAPrc)
Contact details: +61 429 028 852 or Jayashri.Kulkarni@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Kulkarni’s commentary at Monash LensManaging stress and conflict over the festive period;
Mindfulness
The role of mindfulness in reducing distracted driving and accidents

Dr Craig Hassed, Department of General Practice
Contact details: +61 3 9808 2262 or Craig.Hassed@monash.edu Read more of Dr Hassed’s commentary at Monash Lens

Loneliness, social isolation and social support 
How loneliness impacts our physical and mental health 

Dr Rosanne Freak-Poli, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Contact details: +61 412 700 632 or Rosanne.Freak-Poli@monash.edu

Sleep, body clocks and performance
Dr Elise Facer-Childs, Translational Fellow in Industry, School of Psychological Sciences, Turner Institute for Brain and Mental Health
Contact details: +61 481 458 045 or Elise.Facer-Childs@monash.edu

Problem gambling during the festive season
Christmas and the new year are dangerous times for many due to increased stress and anxiety, and opportunities for addictions to worsen

Dr Charles Livingstone, Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine
Contact details: +61 400 395 889 or Charles.Livingstone@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Livingstone’s commentary at Monash Lens   BUSHFIRES, CLIMATE, ENVIRONMENT

Drought, heatwaves and the state of the climate over summer

Dr Ailie Gallant, School of Earth Atmosphere and Environment
Contact details: +61 408 840 878 or Ailie.Gallant@monash.edu

Seasonal climate extremes, historical and future climate change, physical science of climate change, climate modelling, Antarctic ozone hole and future projections
Professor Julie Arblaster, School of Earth Atmosphere and Environment
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4840 or Julie.Arblaster@monash.edu
*Unavailable 14 December - 6 January 2021

The impacts of climate change for natural resources
The effect of sea-level rise on coastal conservation, in particular salt marsh conservation in the US
The effect of climate change on urban water supply

Dr Anke Leroux, Monash Business School
Contact details: +61 3 9903 4710 or Anke.Leroux@monash.edu

Bushfires - post-fire assessment of damage
Green economic recovery and reducing emissions at the national and subnational level

Rupert Posner, System lead, Sustainable Economies, ClimateWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 438 989 420 or Rupert.Posner@climateworksaustralia.org

Climate mitigation
Amandine Denis-Ryan, Head of National Programs, ClimateWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 417 613 379 or Amandine.Denis@climateworksaustralia.org

Recycling, waste reduction, litter/dumping and circular economy
Jenni Downes, Research Fellow, BehaviourWorks, Monash Sustainable Development Institute
Contact details: +61 422 969 886 or Jenni.Downes@monash.edu

Bushfires - post-fire assessment of damage
Dr Christopher Rudiger, Department of Civil Engineering
Contact details: +61 3 9905 4985 or media@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Rudiger’s commentary at Monash Lens *Unavailable from 19 December to 4 January 2021 and 11 to 13 January 2021
Dr Rudiger and his PhD student assess vegetation images, which are available every 3-4 days. This means assessments can be made almost immediately after a bushfire has occurred. He can assess how damaging a fire has been and how effectively it was fought off, and which areas are likely to burn in the near future.

How do we communicate the effects of climate change through politics and mainstream media
Dr David Holmes, Director of the Monash Climate Change Communication Research Hub
Contact details: +61 408 550 529 or media@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Holmes’ commentary at Monash Lens LAW AND ORDER

Family violence, intimate partner violence, adolescent family violence, violence against women, domestic homicides, homicide law, sentencing, criminal law reform, children and the law
Dr Kate Fitz-Gibbon, Criminology, Faculty of Arts
Contact details: +61 412 339 243 or Kate.Fitzgibbon@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Fitz-Gibbon’s commentary at Monash Lens Constitutional law, religious freedom
Associate Professor Luke Beck, Faculty of Law
Contact details: +61 403 580 311 or Luke.Beck@monash.edu
Luke Beck is a constitutional lawyer and leading expert on the separation of church and state/religious freedom issues in Australia.
Read more of Associate Professor Beck’s commentary at Monash LensTechnology facilitated abuse
Deepfakes
Image-based abuse and sexual violence

Associate Professor Asher Flynn, Associate Professor, Criminology
Contact: +61 3 9903 4840 or Asher.Flynn@monash.edu
Read more of Associate Professor Flynn’s commentary at Monash Lens*Not available from 18 December to 11 January 2021

Cashless Debit Card/compulsory income management
Newstart
Young people transitioning from out of home care - extending care to 21 years in Victoria

Dr Philip Mendes, Department of Social Work
Contact details: +61 413 285 167 or Philip.Mendes@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Mendes’ commentary at

Sentencing
Youth justice
The Victorian Law Reform Commission’s review into 'Improving the Response of the Justice System to Sexual Offences'
The current sexual offences framework- areas requiring review and potential reform options

Dr Natalia Antolak-Saper, Lecturer, Faculty of Law
Contact details: +61 450 532 017 or Natalia.Antolak-Saper@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Antolak-Saper’s commentary at Monash Lens

COVID-19 hotel quarantine report: Impact on the Victorian Government and quarantine requirements
Balancing the law with COVID-19 public health measures
Legal implications of ‘mandatory vaccinations’ in workplaces and companies; 
Judicial misconduct and corruption: Relating to draft legislation on the proposed Commonwealth Anti-corruption commission;
Refugee policy: What will happen to refugees who still remain on Nauru and PNG? 

Dr Maria O’Sullivan, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law
Contact details: +61 415  585 708 or Maria.Osullivan@monash.edu
Read more of Dr O’Sullivan’s commentary at Monash Lens *Maria is available from 2 to 30 January 2021. 

Impact of COVID-19 on the Australian legal system, in particular, jury trials
Virtual and remote hearings in Victorian court
Court delays during the COVID-19 pandemic

Associate Professor Jacqui Horan, Faculty of Law and academic member of the Victorian Bar
Contact details: +61 412 565 710 or Jacqui.horan@monash.edu
Read more of Associate Professor Horan’s commentary on Monash Lens
*Jacqui is not available in the week commencing 14 December 2020. 


ROAD SAFETY, TRAFFIC AND TRAUMA

Petrol prices have soared to record highs across Australia. What are some of the reasons behind the sudden hike? Is worse yet to come?

Dr George Rivers, Associate Dean, Faculty of Business & Economics
Contact details: +61 430 361 277 or George.Rivers@monash.edu

How will our public transport cope with the demand over the festive season?
Professor Graham Currie, Institute of Transport Studies
Contact details: +61 414 852 699 or Graham.Currie@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Currie’s commentary at Monash Lens.

All aspects of traffic law enforcement (including alcohol/drug related accidents) 
Professor Max Cameron, Monash University Accident Research Centre
Contact details: +61 417 331 762 or Max.Cameron@monash.edu

ENERGY TECHNOLOGY
How can we be smarter about our energy consumption? The future of Australian green energy

Associate Professor Ariel Liebman, Faculty of Information Technology and Director of Monash Grid Innovation Hub
Contact details: +61 437 028 771 or Ariel.Liebman@monash.edu
Read more of Associate Professor Liebman’s commentary at Monash Lens

TECHNOLOGY 

Social, political, and economic aspects of technology as they relate to potential long-term changes catalysed by the pandemic
The rapid rise of workplace surveillance

Dr Jathan Sadowski, Research Fellow in the Emerging Technologies Research Lab, Faculty of Information Technology, Monash University
Contact details: +61 424 007 342 or Jathan.Sadowski@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Sadowski’s commentary at Monash LensCOVID-19 security, data collection and the use of digital technology to monitor symptoms, enforce restrictions and track viral spread
Facial recognition technology - its use and impact 
Data mining, privacy, surveillance and monitoring on social media

Professor Mark Andrejevic, Professor Communications and Media Studies, School of Media, Film and Journalism, Faculty of Arts
Contact details: +61 479 051 142 or Mark.Andrejevic@monash.eduRead more of Professor Andrejevic’s commentary at Monash LensSmart home devices: Help or hindrance? 
Is smart-home technology in need of a gender reboot?

Associate Professor Yolande Strengers, Emerging Technologies Research Lab, Faculty of Information Technology
Contact details: +61 408 408 572 or Yolande.Strengers@monash.edu
Read more of Associate Professor Strengers’ commentary at Monash LensFacial recognition technology and the emergence of deepfakes
Dr Abhinav Dhall, Department of Human-Centred Computing, Faculty of Information Technology,
Contact details: +61 (0)403 340 928 or Abhinav.Dhall@monash.edu

Empowering learning for an age of artificial intelligence
Professor Dragan Gasevic, Director of the Centre for Learning Analytics
Contact details: +61 (0)420 527 662 or Dragan.Gasevic@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Gasevic’s commentary at Monash LensHow digital health will support - not replace - humans in the healthcare sector
Professor Chris Bain, Faculty of Information Technology
Contact details: +61 428 698 148 or Chris.Bain@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Bain’s commentary at Monash LensDriverless cars: Frameworks and infrastructure needed to make this a reality
How humans relate to and adapt to new technologiesSelf-tracking and wearable technologies
Emerging smart technology and artificial intelligence
Data digital futures

Professor Sarah Pink, Director, Emerging Technologies Research Lab
Monash Art, Design and Architecture and Faculty of Information Technology
Contact details: +61 499 860 622 or Sarah.Pink@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Pink’s commentary at Monash Lens

URBAN PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION

Urban issues post-COVID-19, adapting to rapid population growth
Housing affordability, finding better, more creative was to design our cities
Urban growth, economies and employment

Professor Carl Grodach, Director of Urban Planning and Design, Department of Architecture
Contact details: +61 3 9903 2565 or Carl.Grodach@monash.edu Read more of Professor Grodach’s commentary at Monash Lens.Construction accidents and safety
COVID on construction sites
Worker health and safety
Accidents and injuries on sites

Dr Mehrdad Arashpour, Department of Civil Engineering
Contact details: +61 423 597 027 or Mehrdad.Arashpour@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Arashpour’s commentary at Monash LensPOLITICS AND FINANCE

Interest rates, global economy, prospects for recession or growth in 2021

Professor Mark Crosby, Faculty of Business and Economics
Contact details: +61 437 988 120 or Mark.Crosby@monash.edu
Read more of Professor Crosby’s commentary at Monash LensGeneral political commentary
How the politics of 2021 will be impacted by the coronavirusHow 2021 might be a federal election year

Dr Zareh Ghazarian, School of Social Sciences
Contact details: +61 402 851 224 or Zareh.Ghazarian@monash.edu
Read more of Dr Ghazarian’s commentary at Monash LensMONASH CLOSE DOWN PERIOD

The Monash University closedown period runs from Wednesday 23 December through to Thursday, 7 January 2021.

During this time the Media and Communications Office will be closed and we cannot guarantee availability of academic staff during this time.

If your enquiry is of an urgent Monash management nature please call our 24-hour media line on +61 3 9909 4840 and leave a message.

We wish you a happy and safe festive season.

For any other topics on which you may be seeking expert comment, please contact the Monash University Media on +61 3 9903 4840 or
media@monash.edu. For more news, thought leadership and opinion, visit Monash Lens.For the latest COVID-19 research news, expert opinion, and updates, visit the Monash COVID-19 updates website.