Top PhD students of 2010 recognised

Mollie Holman

Emeritus Professor Mollie Holman, pictured with Governor of Victoria David de Kretser when receiving her award from him in 2007 at Government House

The Mollie Holman Medal for Excellence is awarded in each faculty to the PhD candidate judged to have presented the best thesis of the year.

The award is named after Emeritus Professor Mollie Holman in honour of her significant contribution to science and education.

This year's medal recipients were:

Faculty of Art and Design

Dr. Susan Ruth Fereday, for her thesis titled “Light out of darkness: the foundation of photography in mystery and melancholy”.

Faculty of Arts

Dr. Jessica Stephanie Whyte, for her thesis “'Starting from this uncertain terrain': the political thought of Giorgio Agamben”.

Faculty of Business and Economics

Dr. Han Lin Shang, for his thesis “Visualising and forecasting functional time series”.

Faculty of Education

Dr. Phiona Stanley, for her thesis “Performing foreigners: transnational English teachers' training needs, role, and identities at a Chinese university”.

Faculty of Engineering

Dr. Mohammad Mohidus Samad Khan, for his thesis “Bioactive papers: printing, activity and stability”.

Faculty of Information Technology

Dr. Arun Prasath Mani, for his thesis “Correlation inequalities for Tutte polynomials”.

Faculty of Law

Dr. Kirsten Margaret McKillop, for her thesis “Providing effectively for Indigenous customary law: New Zealand, Canada and Australia and Indigenous customary adoptions”.

Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

Dr. Scott Aaron Sands, for his thesis “Mechanisms underlying rapid arterial hypoxaemia during apnea in the preterm infant”.

Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Robyn Mary Brown, for her thesis “Mouse models of drug-seeking and drug-induced plasticity”.

Faculty of Science

Dr. Aeron Christopher Giles Hurt, for his thesis “Neuraminidase inhibitor resistance in influenza viruses”.

For further information on the nomination process for next year's awards contact Arun Kumar at the Monash Research Graduate School on +613 9905 2070, or email