Monash Academy Orchestra
Be part of something special.
Experience extraordinary music first hand.

Monash Academy Orchestra

Monash Academy Orchestra (MAO) is a symphony orchestra based on the Monash University Clayton campus providing a unique musical journey for students within the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance as well as musicians from the wider university community. You will have the opportunity to meet and work with like-minded musicians, and experience extraordinary music first hand. Entry to the orchestra is by audition, and is open to all Monash students – students do not necessarily need to be enrolled in a Bachelor of Music in order to be eligible to audition. The orchestra currently has a large number of members from a range of different faculties, including Arts, Medicine, Law, Commerce, Engineering and Education. The MAO is committed to performing the work of Australian composers. To this end, a new work from an Australian composer is commissioned by Monash Performing Arts Centres each year, and premiered by the MAO.

Auditions FAQs

Monash Academy Orchestra Performances 2023

Thursday 6 April, Music Auditorium

Joseph Haydn Symphony No.104 in D major ‘London’

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No.31 in D major ‘Paris
Rachael Beesley conductor
Members of the Monash Academy Orchestra


Sunday 7 May, 2022, Robert Blackwood Hall

Lili Boulanger D’un matin de printemps
Ross Edwards Ecstatic Dance
Maurice Ravel Mother Goose Suite
Sergei Rachmaninoff Symphonic Dances

Aaron Wyatt conductor

Sunday 27 August, 2022, Robert Blackwood Hall

Nicholas Buc When the Bugle Calls
Antonín Dvořák Cello Concerto in B minor
Cathy Milliken New Work*
Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring

Marcus Chen cello

Roy Theaker conductor

*Monash University Ed Byrne Commission 2023

2023 Auditions

Read More Read Less
  • Entry to the orchestra is by audition - all members must audition for a position each year. Applicants will need to submit a video recording of the set orchestral excerpts (found below).

    • All applicants should complete an audition application form though the MAO website
    • Applicants will need to submit a single take unedited video recording (not just an audio recording)
    • Recordings to be submitted by email and/or file-sharing link sent to the orchestra administrator
    • All recordings must be submitted by Friday 24 February, 2023
    • If you are unable to submit a recording by the due date but would still like to be considered for a position in the orchestra, please contact the Orchestra Administrator. Late applications may be accepted, depending on the instrument.
    • The files must be clearly labelled with the instrument and applicant’s name

    Please submit an audition application here.
    Please contact the orchestra administrator, Hannah Trinca, for further details:

  • Flute - Download
  • Piccolo - Download
  • Oboe - Download
  • Cor anglais - Download
  • Clarinet - Download
  • Eb Clarinet - Download
  • Bass Clarinet - Download
  • Bassoon - Download
  • Contra Bassoon - Download
  • French Horn - Download
  • Trumpet - Download
  • Tenor Trombone - Download
  • Bass Trombone - Download
  • Tuba - Download
  • Percussion and Timpani - Download
  • Harp - Download
  • Concertmaster - Download
  • Violin - Download
  • Viola - Download
  • Cello - Download
  • Double Bass - Download