Appalachian Spring

Monash University Clayton Campus


Bookings Available Soon

The Monash Academy Orchestra performs much loved works by Dvořák and Aaron Copland, alongside a world premiere by Australian composer, Cathy Milliken.

Local maestro Roy Theaker will lead the Monash Academy Orchestra in a performance which features winner of the 2022 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition, Marcus Chen.

Dvořák’s beloved cello concerto is one of the most frequently performed concertos. Written during Dvořák’s time in America, the work is full of sublime and expressive melodies, with moments of intense drama.

Appalachian Spring is arguably one of Copland’s most famous compositions. The original ballet score was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1945, and the subsequent orchestral suite has enjoyed enduring popularity. The music conjures an idyllic sense of the American landscape and includes a set of variations on the familiar Shaker tune Simple Gifts.

This program will also include the world premiere of the 2023 Monash University Ed Byrne Commission, by international award-winning Australian performer and composer, Cathy Milliken.

Monash Academy Orchestra
Roy Theaker conductor
Marcus Chen cello*

*Winner of the 2022 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition

Nicholas Buc When the Bugle Calls
Antonín Dvořák Cello Concerto in B minor
Cathy Milliken New Work**
Aaron Copland Appalachian Spring (suite for full orchestra)

**2023 Monash University Ed Byrne Commission

  • Performance Information

    • Duration: Approximately 2 hours with one interval

    • Venue: Robert Blackwood Hall

    • Age suitability: All ages

  • Venue Details

    Robert Blackwood Hall:
    Monash University Clayton Campus,
    49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton 3800

    Accessibility Information