The Shadow Whose Prey the Hunter Becomes

The Ian Potter Centre for Performing Arts

$20 - $55

Past Event

The Shadow Whose Prey the Hunter Becomes is a story about a public meeting, the type of meeting you would hope to happen in a certain kind of democracy.

How do we come together to make decisions that are in the best interest of a civic society?

Don’t miss this remarkable production by world-renowned Australian company, Back To Back Theatre; winners of the 2022 International Ibsen Award and SXSW Audience Award.

Coming to Monash University Performing Arts Centres this May is leading Australian theatre company, Back to Back Theatre with The Shadow Whose Prey The Hunter Becomes.

Recent recipients of the international Ibsen award, dubbed the ‘Nobel Prize for Theatre’ and the SXSW Audience Award for their screen adaptation of Shadow, Back to Back Theatre is recognised as a company that has brought new artistic dimensions to the world of theatre.

Weaving a narrative through human rights, sexual politics, and the projected dominance of artificial intelligence, The Shadow Whose Prey the Hunter Becomes is a sly theatrical revelation inspired by mistakes, mis-readings, mis-leadings and misunderstanding, Shadow reminds us that none of us are self-sufficient and all of us are responsible.

Back to Back Theatre creates new forms of contemporary performance imagined from the minds and experiences of a unique ensemble of actors with a disability, giving voice to social and political issues that speak to all people. Based in the regional centre of Geelong, the company is one of Australia’s most globally recognised and respected contemporary theatre companies.

In addition to its professional practice, Back to Back collaborates intensively with communities around the world, with a focus on artistic excellence and elevated social inclusion for people with disabilities.

THE SHADOW WHOSE PREY THE HUNTER BECOMES has been co-commissioned by Carriageworks, Theater der Welt, Düsseldorf 2020, the Keir Foundation, the Thyne Reid Foundation and The Anthony Costa Foundation, supported by Creative Partnerships Australia through Plus 1, with development support from the Geelong Arts Centre, Arts Centre Melbourne, Melbourne International Arts Festival, the Une Parkinson Foundation, The Public Theater (New York City) and ArtsEmerson (Boston).

THE SHADOW WHOSE PREY THE HUNTER BECOMES was developed, in part, at the 2019 Sundance Theatre Lab at MASS MoCA.

Image: Jeff Busby

  • Dates & Times:
    • Thursday 19 May 2022, 7:30pm

    • Friday 20 May 2022, 7:30pm

      This session is Auslan interpreted
  • Ticket Pricing

    Premium A Reserve
    Standard $55 $45
    Concession $39
    Groups 8+ $25
    Monash Staff $29
    Monash Alumni $29
    Monash Student $20
    Standard $55
    Groups 8+
    Monash Staff
    Monash Alumni
    Monash Student
    A Reserve
    Standard $45
    Concession $39
    Groups 8+ $25
    Monash Staff $29
    Monash Alumni $29
    Monash Student $20
  • Performance Information

    • Duration: approximately 65 minutes with no interval

    • Venue: Alexander Theatre

    • Accessibility: Auslan

    • Age suitability: Recommended 12+

    • Event warnings: ‘Shadow’ contains coarse language, neuro-typical shaming, references to sexual and physical abuse, prescription medication and the oppression of animals and humans.

  • Venue Details

    Alexander Theatre:
    The Ian Potter Centre for Performing Arts,
    48 Exhibition Walk, Clayton 3800

    Accessibility Information

Michael Chan, Mark Deans, Bruce Gladwin, Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring, Scott Price, Sonia Teuben

Luke Howard Trio – Daniel Farrugia, Luke Howard, Jonathon Zion

Simon Laherty, Sarah Mainwaring, Scott Price

Bruce Gladwin

Screen Design
Rhian Hinkley, lowercase

Lighting Design
Andrew Livingston, bluebottle

Sound Design
Lachlan Carrick

Costume Design
Shio Otani

Script Consultant
Melissa Reeves

Jennifer Ma

Production Manager
Bao Ngouansavanh

Creative Development
Michael Chan, Mark Cuthbertson, Mark Deans, Rhian Hinkley, Bruce Gladwin, Simon Laherty, Pippin Latham, Andrew Livingston, Sarah Mainwaring, Victoria Marshall, Scott Price, Brian Tilley, Sonia Teuben

Tanya Bennett, Margaret Bourke

Executive Producer
Tim Stitz