Brahms and Dvořák: Friends and Admirers

Monash University Clayton Campus

$30 - $75

Join the MSO and revered Spanish pianist Javier Perianes under the baton of Jaime Martín, featuring a newly commissioned work by Australian living legend Paul Grabowsky AO.
  • Written in response to Robert Schumann’s attempted suicide (as he slowly fell in love at arm’s length with Schumann’s wife Clara while helping her to recover) Brahms’s deeply personal concerto takes inspiration from Bach and Beethoven before him, and its premiere cemented Brahms’s reputation henceforth as the great ‘Third B’ in music history.
  • Dvořák’s Sixth Symphony is heavily inspired by the music of Brahms and Wagner, along with his signature incorporation of elements from Bohemian folk music. Described as one of the most majestic in the symphonic literature, its grand, sweeping melodies take us on a journey ending in radiant, sunny high spirits.
  • MSO Australian musical legend Paul Grabowsky AO is known for his incredible versatility and virtuosity. Paul is a long-time friend of the MSO, and we are thrilled to present the world premiere of this work as the culmination of his time as MSO Composer in Residence.

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Jaime Martín conductor
Javier Perianes piano

Brahms Piano Concerto No.1
Paul Grabowsky New work*
Dvořák Symphony No.6
*World premiere of an MSO Commission

  • Dates & Times:

    Select a performance to proceed to seat selection

  • Ticket Pricing

    Premium A Reserve B Reserve C Reserve
    Standard $75 $65 $55 $35
    Concession $70 $60 $50 $30
    Standard $75
    Concession $70
    A Reserve
    Standard $65
    Concession $60
    B Reserve
    Standard $55
    Concession $50
    C Reserve
    Standard $35
    Concession $30
  • Performance Information

    • Duration: Approximately 2 hour and 15 minutes with one interval

    • Venue: Robert Blackwood Hall

    • Age suitability: All ages

  • Venue Details

    Robert Blackwood Hall:
    Monash University Clayton Campus,
    49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton 3800

    Accessibility Information