James Ehnes: Beethoven’s Violin Concerto

Monash University Clayton Campus

$29 - $75

Past Event

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
James Ehnes
director & violin


Ligeti Six Miniatures
Bartók Divertimento for Strings
Beethoven Violin Concerto

The Orchestra takes the lead in a program of bold Hungarian repertoire, followed by Beethoven’s Violin Concerto directed and performed by James Ehnes.

  • György Ligeti arranged Six Bagatelles for wind quintet from a cycle of piano pieces he had written years previously, Musica ricercata. Ten members of the MSO woodwind section will perform these vivacious and intricate vignettes to open the program.
  • Then, the strings of the MSO take to the stage for Bartók’s Divertimento. Heavily influenced by the rhythms and tonalities of Eastern European folk music, Bartók composed the work in a Swiss Alps chalet owned by the commissioner of the work.
  • Beethoven’s Violin Concerto was composed for prodigy Franz Clement. The concerto did not immediately catch on with audiences; it wasn’t until forty years later, when thirteen-year-old Joseph Joachim performed the piece under the baton of Felix Mendelssohn, that it entered the standard repertoire.
  • Dates & Times:
    • Friday 18 November 2022, 7:30pm

  • Ticket Pricing

    Premium A Reserve B Reserve C Reserve
    Standard $75 $65 $57 $34
    Concession $70 $60 $52 $29
    Monash Alumni $29 $29 $29
    Standard $75
    Concession $70
    Monash Alumni
    A Reserve
    Standard $65
    Concession $60
    Monash Alumni $29
    B Reserve
    Standard $57
    Concession $52
    Monash Alumni $29
    C Reserve
    Standard $34
    Concession $29
    Monash Alumni $29
  • Performance Information

    • Duration: 105 minutes including one interval

    • Venue: Robert Blackwood Hall

    • Age suitability: All ages

  • Venue Details

    Robert Blackwood Hall:
    Monash University Clayton Campus,
    49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton 3800

    Accessibility Information