Monash Academy Orchestra in Concert

Monash University Clayton Campus


Past Event

The Monash Academy Orchestra returns to Robert Blackwood Hall in August led by conductor Roy Theaker.

The Monash Academy Orchestra has established an enviable reputation as an outstanding training and mentoring orchestra. Students work alongside professional musicians, providing the opportunity to develop their knowledge of orchestral repertoire as well as the ensemble skills necessary for professional practice.

This program, conducted by Roy Theaker, will feature Shostakovich’s bright, neo-classical Symphony No.9, and the virtuosic Piano Concerto No.2 of Saint-Saëns. The orchestra will be joined by winner of the 2020 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition, pianist Thong Truong.

Monash Academy Orchestra
Roy Theaker conductor
Thong Truong piano – Winner of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition 2020

Nicholas Buc When the Bugle Calls
Saint-Saëns Piano Concerto No.2 in G minor
Shostakovich Symphony No.9 in E flat major

  • Dates & Times:
    • Sunday 22 August 2021, 2:30pm

      This performance has been postponed. Ticket holders will receive additional information shortly.
  • Ticket Pricing

  • Performance Information

    • Duration:120 minutes with one interval

    • Venue:Robert Blackwood Hall

    • Age suitability:All ages

  • Venue Details

    Robert Blackwood Hall:
    Monash University Clayton Campus,
    49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton 3800

    Accessibility Information