Monash University Clayton Campus


Past Event

Conducted by Carolyn Watson, the Monash Academy Orchestra performs works by Thomas Meadowcroft, Alexander Arutiunian and Louise Farrenc.

Australian conductor Carolyn Watson, recently appointed Music Director of the La Porte County Symphony Orchestra in Indiana (USA), joins the Monash Academy Orchestra for a voyage of discovery – and rediscovery. At the heart of the program is the Symphony No.1 by Louise Farrenc. This remarkable 19th century French composer is only now receiving the recognition she deserves, as one of the greats of the early romantic era.

The orchestra will also perform the world premiere of a work by Berlin based Australian composer Thomas Meadowcroft – this year’s Monash University Ed Byrne Commission – and the winner of the 2021 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition, Naomi Whimpey, will perform the virtuosic Trumpet Concerto of Armenian composer, Alexander Arutiunian.

This will be a concert of revelations!

Monash Academy Orchestra
Carolyn Watson conductor
Naomi Whimpey trumpet

Thomas Meadowcroft Evening Continuo*
Alexander Arutiunian Trumpet Concerto
Louise Farrenc Symphony No.1

*Monash University Ed Byrne Commission 2022

  • Dates & Times:
    • Sunday 14 August 2022, 2:30pm

      Currently sold out. Tickets may be available at the venue 15 minutes prior to commencement of performance.