Still We Rise

Monash University Clayton Campus


Past Event

The Monash Academy Orchestra performs works by Rachmaninov, Gershwin, Paul Grabowsky and Vanessa Perica, under the baton of local maestro, Fabian Russell.

The Monash Academy Orchestra makes a welcome return to Robert Blackwood Hall for its 2022 season. Under the baton of Fabian Russell, the orchestra will perform a program that places Paul Grabowsky’s mesmerising orchestral work Cythera and Gershwin’s An American in Paris alongside the much loved Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2. The program will also feature the world premiere of Still We Rise, by Australian composer Vanessa Perica.

The orchestra will be joined by soloist Thong Truong, winner of the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance Concerto Competition in 2020.

Monash Academy Orchestra
Fabian Russell conductor
Thong Truong piano

Paul Grabowsky Cythera (commissioned by the Hush Foundation 2013)
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No.2
Vanessa Perica Still We Rise
Gershwin An American in Paris

  • Dates & Times:
    • Sunday 15 May 2022, 2:30pm

      Currently sold out. Tickets may be available at the venue 15 minutes prior to commencement of performance.