Professor Debra Rowett

Debra Rowett is Professor and Discipline Leader Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences at the University of South Australia and Director of the Drug and Therapeutics Information Service (DATIS), Southern Adelaide Local Health Network.

Debra stepped down this year as President of the Australian Pharmacy Council having served on the Pharmacy Board of South Australia and then the Australian Pharmacy Council over a period of 20 years. Debra has worked extensively in the area of quality use of medicines, inter-professional practice, health policy and workforce development in Australia and internationally. Debra has also been at the forefront of academic detailing training and implementation in Australia and her research and clinical interests are in implementation science, inter professional communication and practice.

Debra is a member of the national Drug Utilisation Sub-Committee of the Australian Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC). Debra was credentialed as an Advanced Practice Pharmacist and is a member of the Australian Advancing Practice Advisory Board which comprises leaders from across the pharmacy profession and consumer health. In 2002 Debra was awarded the SHPA’s Australian Clinical Pharmacy Award, and in 2016, Debra received the prestigious SHPA Fred J Boyd award and is a Fellow of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia.