Monash pharmacy graduate named Early Career Pharmacist of the Year

Monash pharmacy graduate named Early Career Pharmacist of the Year

1 August 2016

Monash alumna Erin Nunan has received the Early Career Pharmacist of the Year Award at the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia’s (PSA) 2016 Excellence Awards.

As Australia’s premier awards for the profession, the Excellence Awards recognise outstanding pharmacists who are committed to the highest standards of care and innovation of the practice.  Recipients are each given a Symbion Education Grant valued at $9,000.

Erin, who completed her Bachelor of Pharmacy in 2005, has used her pharmacy training to improve health in various countries in the developing world.

In the Solomon Islands she worked with the World Health Organisation on the country’s National Medicines Policy, and through the Clinton Health Initiative has been involved in reducing AIDS in Swaziland.  Her work with resource-poor and remote communities has had a valuable impact on the advancement of global health practices.

“Erin is exactly the kind of pharmacist we believe a Monash education should create,” said Bill Charman, Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science. “She is public spirited, with a genuine commitment to using her skills to make a positive impact on the world around her. On behalf of the faculty, I congratulate her on a much-deserved win.”

The faculty also congratulates the other 2016 Excellence Award recipients, Pharmacist of the Year Noel Fosbery, and Lifetime Achievement Award winner Con Peoples.