Faculty success in major Commonwealth grant programs in 2018

The Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences has been awarded over $16 million dollars in research funding announced by the National Health and Medical Research Council (“NHMRC”) and the Australian Research Council (“ARC”) in 2018.

Notable grants in 2018 include a $4.16 million grant in ARC funding awarded to a consortium of researchers led by Professor Martin Scanlon, to establish the ARC Training Centre for the Development of Tools for Fragment Based Design.  

The development is being led by Monash University and will operate in close partnership with Sydney University, Griffith University and 11 industry partners. It will provide PhD students and early-career postdoctoral researchers with direct experience in industry partner laboratories, as well as training and master classes in early stage drug-discovery from industry experts.

Also noteworthy is the NHMRC project grant ($1.2M) awarded to Doctor Denise Wootten and Doctor Dana Hutchinson on the relevance of glucagon-like-peptide-1 receptor biased agonism.


ARC Future Fellowships

Sebastian Furness: The molecular basis for efficacy at G protein coupled receptors (GPCRs), $703,141

ARC Discovery Early Career Researcher Award (DECRA)

Andrew Clulow: Milk mimicry: Self-assembly in complex lipid mixtures during digestion, $385,000

NHMRC Fellowships

Patrick Sexton; Senior Principal Fellowship; Improving translational understanding of the most abundant therapeutic target class, $888,270

Denise Wooten; Senior Research Fellow B; Novel targeting of the glucagon family of G protein-coupled receptors, $717,275

Amy Page; Early Career Fellowship; Clinical outcomes in older people of continuing or deprescribing or continuing medicines that caused a hospital admission, $163,596

Janet Sluggett; Early Career Fellowship; Are they thriving? Lowering risk and improving safety of medicines use in older Australians receiving community and residential aged care services, $261,754


NHMRC Development Grants - Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences (MIPS) led

Jonathan Baell, Rebecca Ritchie, Carl Kirkpatrick, Gemma Figtree, Gridhar Deora, Helena Qin; Prodrug development of biased N-Alkylpyridazinones for the acute intravenous treatment of myocardial ischaemia-reperfusion injury, $677,121

Bernard Flynn, Darren Kelly, Bing Wang, Christopher Reid, Stuart Pitson; Dihydroceramide desaturase-1 (Des1) inhibitors for the treatment of fibrotic disease, $680,824

NHMRC Project Grants - MIPS led

Jonathan Baell, John Kelly: New treatments for Chagas disease, $796,801

Jonathan Baell Philip Board, Aaron Oakley, Marco Casarotto, Prashant Mujumdar: Small molecule inhibitors of glutathione transferase omega 1-1 (GSTO1-1) for the treatment of inflammatory disease, $737,521

Denise Wootten, Dana Hutchinson: The physiological and pathophysiological relevance of glucagon-like-peptide-1 receptor biased agonism; $1,242,532

Yi-Lynn Liang, Debbie Hay: A structural understanding of calcitonin gene-related peptide and adrenomedullin function, $1,162,535

Cornelia Landersdorfer, Antonio Oliver, Marina Harper, Roger Nation: Overcoming multidrug-resistant hypermutable Pseudomonas aeruginosa via antibiotic combinations, $766,584

Darren Creek, Freya Fowkes: Host and pathogen contributors to Artemisinin Resistance, $890,314

Darren Creek, Peter Scammells, Stuart Ralph, Raymond Norton, Shane Devine: New aminobenzimidazole antimalarial agents with a novel mechanism of action, $767,521

NHMRC Project Grants - Monash but not MIPS led

Robert Medcalf, Benjamin Boyd, Geoffrey Cloud: Improving the safety and predictable efficacy of thrombolytic therapy in acute ischaemic stroke, $1,371,900

NHMRC Project Grants - Non Monash led

Claudine Bonder, Nicolas Voelcker, Lisa Ebert (University of South Australia led),

Desmoglein-2; an unsuspected regulator of melanoma, $805,249

Lisa Kaminskas, Michael Whittaker and Andrew Whittaker (University of Queensland led), Understanding the kinetics of nanomedicine clearance from healthy and diseased lungs, $624,722

ARC Industrial Transformation Training Centre (ITTC) - MIPS led

Martin Scanlon, Sally-Ann Poulson, Michael Kassiou, Roisin McMahon, Raymond Norton, Jennifer Martin, Joel Mackay, Ben Capuano, Jonathan Baell, and eleven industry-based partner investigators, ARC Training Centre for the Development of Tools for Fragment Based Design, $4,163,359

ARC Discovery Projects - MIPS led

Nicholas Voelcker, Victor Busto, Jessica Firth, Juergen Brugger, Joachim Spatz: Micro/nano smart surfaces to unlock the potential of multipotent stem cells; $440,000

Peter Scammells, Arthur Christopoulos: Chemical-biology approaches to pathway selective adenosine receptor ligands, $450,000

Celine Valant, Arthur Christopoulos, Peter Scammells, Brian Schoichet: Discovering novel allosteric probes of muscarinic acetylcholine receptors, $531,000