Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences announce seven new staff promotions

Researchers Dr Sebastian Furness, Dr Jenni Ilomäki and Dr Jennifer Short have been promoted to Level C positions (Senior Lecturers) and Dr Ben Capuano, Dr Darren Creek, Dr Cornelia Landersdorfer and Dr Elizabeth Yuriev have been promoted to Level D positions (Associate Professors).


Dr. Sebastian Furness, an ARC Future Fellow, contributes broadly to the Drug Discovery Biology Theme, working on G protein-coupled receptors and teaching into the undergraduate and doctoral training programs.

Dr Jenni Ilomäki leads a research group analysing Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme Data. She has published over 95 peer-reviewed manuscripts and established Finland’s first drug information centre KLIK.

Dr Jennifer Short has played a critical role in the implantation of an award-winning coaching and mentorship program to support undergraduate learners. Her extensive work in the development of initiatives to improve communication skills, English language proficiencies and active learning strategies has been recognised with Teaching Citations and Awards for Excellence.

Dr Ben Capuano is a synthetic medicinal chemist and internationally recognised for his research into GPCRs. He has published over 90 peer-reviewed publications with over 2000 citations of his work. Dr Capuano is currently a member of the consortium of researchers at the ARC Centre for Fragment-Based Design and was appointed deputy director and research theme leader within the facility.

Dr Darren Creek is an NHMRC Career Development Fellow and leads the malaria metabolomics research group within the Drug Delivery Disposition and Dynamics Theme at MIPS. Dr Creek is recognised as an international leader in the rapidly-growing discipline of metabolomics, having developed several new analytical tools and discovered new metabolic pathways and drug mechanisms.

Dr Cornelia Landersdorfer is currently the Project Director of a large NIH clinical PK modelling contract. In 2018, she received the prestigious Georgina sweet Award for Women in Quantitative Biomedical Sciences. She currently leads a translational research program and laboratory that integrates experimental microbiological studies with mathematical modelling to optimise dosing.

Dr Elizabeth Yuriev is an internationally recognised chemistry educator and education researcher. Her research outcomes include over 90 peer-reviewed papers, 6 book chapters and 2 edited books. She has received numerous teaching excellence awards and in 2019 was awarded the RACI National Chemistry Educator of the Year.

All promotions have been made through extensive consultation with the Monash University Promotions Committee, who review and make recommendations.

Professor Peter Scammells; Professor Paul White; Associate Professor Joe Nicolazzo; Dr. Johnson George; Associate Professor Denise Wootten; Professor Sue Charman; Dr. Ian Larson; Professor Chris Porter, Professor Michelle McIntosh, Associate Professor Erica Sloan and Professor Phil Thompson all hold committee member positions.