Michelle McIntosh awarded Dr John Dixon Hughes Medal for Medical Research Innovation

9 December 2016

A/Prof Michelle McIntosh has been jointly awarded the Dr John Dixon Hughes Medal for Medical Research Innovation, alongside Prof. Mark Kendall from the University of Queensland, by the National Foundation for Medical Research and Innovation (NFMRI).

The ceremony was held on 8 December at the MLC Centre in Sydney and was attended by representatives from industry, business and research.

The medal, developed in honour of Dr John Dixon Hughes OAM (NFMRI’s longest standing Trustee), celebrates the achievements of Australia’s recent biomedical research innovators and entails a $50,000 prize in the form of a research grant for each recipient.

Dr John Dixon Hughes OAM said “that the nominations were simply of exceptionally high calibre, demonstrating the sector’s progress and improvement of innovation commercialisation.” He noted that the Foundation’s research advisory committee felt it was impossible to compare and decide between the final two finalists and hence the Board made the decision to award two medals: one to Professor Mark Kendall, for his successes with the Vaxxas nanopatch vaccine delivery system; and one to A/Prof Michelle McIntosh for the development of an inhalable form of oxytocin to prevent postpartum haemorrhage in women from resource-poor settings.