Future Research Leader Award

This Award focuses on excellence in research relative to career opportunities, for early career researchers with up to 10 years of experience post-PhD with research leadership  potential. Prior to 2014, this Award was known as the Early Career Research Award.

2016 Dr Cornelia Landersdorfer

Connie Landersdorfer joined the Faculty in 2011. She completed her PhD at the University of Würzburg, Germany, in 2006.

She leads a translational research program on optimisation of drug therapy, with a special focus on antibiotics. This program represents a significant contribution to the Faculty’s portfolio, as it is integrating experimental research and PK/PD modelling, and has impacted patient therapy.
Connie is a NHMRC Career Development Fellow, is CI on 3 NHMRC project grants (2 as CIA) and has been awarded NIH funding for 2 projects.

She has published 64 peer-reviewed papers (22 since 2015) in discipline-leading journals (e.g. Clin Infect Dis, Clin Pharmacokinet, J Antimicrob Chemother).
Read more about Connie's research

2015 Dr J Robert Lane

Dr Rob Lane was awarded the Future Research Leader Award in 2015 for his research focused on GPCRs and novel approaches to treat CNS disorders such as Parkinson's disease and schizophernia. Rob joined MIPS in 2010 as a Monash Larkins Fellow, having completed his PhD at the University of Glasgow.  Rob has an outstanding record of publication in journals such as Nature Chem Biol; Nature; J Med Chem; and Mol Pharmacol.
Read more about Rob's research

2014 Dr Lisa Kaminkas (Joint Award)

When  awarded the Future Research Leader Award in 2014, Dr Lisa Kaminskas was a NHRMC  Career Development Fellow with a research interest focused on the treatment of  lymph-metastatic and lung-resident cancer which are largely resistant to  conventional intrevenous chemotherapy.  Lisa's  research addresses basis and applied aspects of drug delivery.  Her collaborative research in dendrimer-based  drug delivery with Starpharma has resulted in 16 publications, four patent  applications, 4 ARC Linkage Grants and establishment of Starpharma's in-house  oncology program that has now progressed to Phase 1 clinical trials.
Read more about Lisa's research

2014 Dr Christopher Langmead (Joint Award)

Dr  Chris Langmead is a high-calibre research leader who leads and manages the  Servier programs within Drug Discovery Biology.   When awarded the Future Research Leader Award in 2014, his track-record  was outstanding with a knowledge base in pharmacology and drug discvoery from  previous experiences within pharma (GSK) and biotech (Heptares) in the United  Kingdom.  While much of Chris' research  is commerical-in-confidence, he has maintained a major academic profile and  continued to publish (Br. J. Pharmacol.,  Curr Opinion Cell Biol., Pharmacol. Rev) and leads many national and  international professional activities.
Read more about Chris' research

2013 Dr Joseph Nicolazzo

Dr Joseph Nicolazzo is the 2013 recipient of the Early Career Research Award. Joe is a highly collaborative staff member who contributes energetically to his research, education and service responsibilities. He has established an independent, grant-funded research program focusing on the Blood Brain Barrier (BBB) founded on pharmacology and transport function. His BBB research ranges from the study of influx for delivery of xenobiotics into the brain, to the efflux associated with removal of amyloid for treatment of Alzheimer's disease. In 2013 he had published over 34 papers and graduated 3 PhD students.
Read more about Joe's research.

2012 Dr Meri Canals

Dr Meri Canals was recognised as an outstanding early career researcher in 2012 for her research focused on novel modes of regulating GPCRs and the influence of noncanonical signalling pathways and beta-arrestin proteins. Having undertaken research in some of the world's top GPCR laboratories, she has been instrumental in developing new methods to study protein-protein interactions and has extended her research interests to encompass the role of allosteric ligands on receptor trafficking and regulation. In 2010, Meri was awarded the first MIPS-based Monash Fellowship.
Read more about Meri's current research, publications and grants.

2011 Dr Erica Sloan

Highlights from Erica's career when recognised as an outstanding early career researcher in 2011 include her National Breast Cancer Foundation early career fellowship enabling to pursue her research interest in the role of neural components in the tumour microenvironment in regulating breast cancer. She had published major papers in Cancer Research and PNAS and her work has led to in vivo imaging capability within MIPS, and an exciting undergraduate research student initiative.
Read more about Erica's current research, publications and grants.

2010 Dr Stephen Headey

Highlights from Dr Stephen Headey's career when recognised as an outstanding early career researcher in 2010 include his Postdoc position at Massey University developing structural insights into interaction of proteins with endogenous ligands and small molecules. In 2010 he had published 14 papers with front-cover features on J Structural Biology and Molecular Endocrinology.
Read about Stephen's current research, publications and grants.

2009 Dr Bim Graham

Highlights from Bim Graham's career when recognised as an early career researcher in 2009 include his work to establish a grant-funded research program around the development of novel metal complexes and bioconjugates. In 2009, Bim had published 38 papers, including key publications in JACS, Science and Inorganic Chemistry.
Read more about Bims 's current research, publications and grants.

2008 Dr Tony Velkov

Tony received the award in 2008 for his significant contribution to the development of an entirely new line of research within the faculty that examines the role of intracelleular lipid binding proteins and their role in ADME. Tony's solid start to his research career included being awarded a Monash Research Fund postdoctoral fellowship in 2004 and a Peter Doherty NHMRC postdoctoral fellowship in 2006.
Read more about Tony's current research, publications and grants.

2007 Professor Jian Li

Highlights from Jian Li's career when recognised as an outstanding early career researcher in 2007 include his significant international work on the development and innovative use of anti-infective agents. In 2007 he had published 42 research papers, of which 21 focused on colistin research, and had been awarded the NHMRC R. Douglas Wright Research Fellowship.
Read more about Jian's current research, publications and grants.

2006 Assoc. Professor Ben Boyd

Highlights from Ben Boyd's career when recognised as an outstanding early career researcher in 2006 include the influence his research had to fundamentally change the way the Pharmaceutical Industry views the use of lipid-based formulations. In 2006 Ben had published 2 invited peer-reviewed book chapters, 15 research papers and four patents.
Read more about Ben's current research, publications and grants.