Our team

Leadership team

The CDCO is Directed by Professor Susan Charman and is comprised of 24 staff, working across five major functions including physicochemical profiling, drug metabolism, in vitro ADME, in vivo pharmacokinetics and bioanalysis.

Professor Susan Charman

Susan Charman is Director of the Centre for Drug Candidate Optimisation and Professor at the Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University. She completed a PhD in pharmaceutical science in the US and worked in the pharmaceutical industry before moving to Monash to assume an academic role. Professor Charman leads a team of 25 research scientists and postdoctoral fellows that undertake physicochemical, metabolism and pharmacokinetic investigations to inform drug candidate design and progression. She has published over 170 peer reviewed scientific manuscripts, has been cited nearly 10,000 times and is a named inventor on 10 patents. She is particularly interested in the discovery of new drug candidates to treat tropical infectious diseases and has supported drug discovery activities in this area for the past 20 years.

Golnar Golbaghi

Dr Andrew Powell

Operations Manager

Dr Torie Foletta

Senior Project Manager

Dr David Shackleford

Biopharmaceutics Section Leader

Dr Michael Campbell

Chemistry Section Leader

Sonya Agarwal

Sonya Agarwal

Dr Gong Chen

Dr Elly Crighton

Golnar Golbaghi

Golnar Golbaghi

Meiyu Hu

Jaya Jayaseelan

Dr Kasiram Katneni

Dr Peng Li

Dr Mitchell McInerney

Dr Rahul Patil

Thao Pham

Jessica Saunders

Erin Tay

Dr Erin Tay

Dr Wen Wang

Caithlin White

Longjin Zhong

Dr Longjin Zhong