Faculty Diversity and Inclusion

Faculty Diversity and Inclusion

The Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Diversity and Inclusion Committee acknowledge the Wurundjeri People as the Traditional Owners of the land on which the Parkville Campus stands. We pay our respects to their Elders, past and present, and the Aboriginal Elders of other communities

The Faculty Diversity and Inclusion Committee (FDIC) for the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, oversees the management and communication of diversity and inclusion matters on the Parkville campus.

Committee Members

  • Marian Costelloe (Chair)
  • Annalise Tindal
  • Al Meibusch
  • Alastair Thomas
  • Andrew Fitzpatrick
  • Betty Exintaris
  • Sab Ventura
  • Whitney Etheve
  • Irma Kajan
  • Liz Stock
  • Student representatives

Purpose

FDIC will provide opportunity for diversity and inclusion issues to be discussed which may include, but are not limited to:

  • Gender equity for staff and students
  • Student equity and access
  • Indigenous staff and students
  • Staff and students of diverse genders and sexualities
  • Culturally and linguistically diverse staff and students
  • Staff and students with a disability

At Monash:

  • We recognise diversity
  • We work inclusively
  • We innovate
  • We are sustainable

Accreditation includes:

  • Athena Swan
  • Silver Employer AWEI
  • Employer of Choice for Gender Equality (WGEA)

Terms of Reference

1. Share information about the University’s diversity and inclusion framework and plans, and monitor progress against targets where appropriate particularly in relation to the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences and Parkville campus

2. Provide a forum for opportunities, concerns and issues about diversity and inclusion to be discussed.

3. Initiate, develop and implement collaborative initiatives.

4. Report regularly and offer recommendations to the Faculty and Education Executive Committees as appropriate, as well as the Monash University Diversity and Inclusion Committee.

Diversity and Inclusion Network at Monash University

Access Monash - supports students from disadvantaged backgrounds - so they can gain access to and participate in a fantastic university experience

Yulendj Indigenous Engagement Unit – provides support to Indigenous students and staff in their education and employment aspirations and provides strategic advice to the University on Indigenous matters.

Disability Support Services - Disability Support Services assists students with disabilities, mental health conditions and on-going medical conditions.

Gender equity at Monash - striving to create an organisational culture that is inclusive and in which female staff participate equally at all levels in our pursuit of excellence.

LGBTIQ Allies on the Parkville campus:

Andrew Fitzpatrick, E: andrew.fitzpatrick@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 990 39689

Irma Kajan, E: irma.kajan@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 990 52190

Dr Andreia Bruno, E: andreia.bruno@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 990 39031

Jenny Harvey, E: jenny.harvey@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 990 39514

Caitlin Larsen: caitlin.larsen@monash.edu 

Erica Sloan, E: erica.sloan@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9707

Marian Simkin, E: marian.simkin@monash.edu

Megan Waldhuber, E: megan.waldhuber@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9173

Mel McKenna, E: melissa.mckenna@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9515

Mina Nichols-Boyd, E: mina.nichols-boyd@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9182

Monica Langiu, E: monica.langiu@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9225

Simon McKenzie-Nickson, E: simon.mckenzie-nickson@monash.edu

Stephanie Jury, E: stephanie.jury@monash.edu Tel: +61 3 9903 9615

Alastair Thomas, E: alastair.k.thomas@monash.edu, Tel: +61 3 9903 9090

Amy NY Chen, E: amy.ny.chen@monash.edu

Angela Calandra, E: angela.calandra@monash.edu, Tel: +61 3 9903 9620

Anna Cifuentes-Ries, E: anna.cifuentesrius@monash.edu

Arisbel Batista Gondin, E: arisbel.batista@monash.edu

Siobhan Kennedy, E: siobhan.kennedy@monash.edu

Tina Brock, E: tina.brock@monash.edu,  Tel: +61 3 9903 9025

LGBTIQ Allies in the University:

Monash LGBTIQ

Contact FDIC

If you would like to get in contact please send us an email at: pharmacy.info@monash.edu.

Useful Links:

Parenting Rooms

Monash Diversity and Inclusion

Monash Gender Equity

The Royal Society - Understanding Unconscious Bias

Events Calendar

Reconciliation Week 27 May - 3 June 2020

Past Events

Faculty Diversity and Inclusion Committee Meeting 1
Wednesday 13 May 2020
1.00PM - 2.30PM
Location: TBC

International Day Against Homophobia, Biphobia, Intersexphobia and Transphobia (IDAHOBIT) 2020
11-15 May 2020
See more on the Diversity and Inclusion website.

Her Research Matters Collective Event - Guest Speaker Nicole May - Friday 6th March