Page content

Monash Physicist Receives Top Science Recognition

The Australian Academy of Science has announced internationally renowned Monash physicist Professor Joanne Etheridge, Director Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy and Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering is one of 22 distinguished Australian scientists elected as new Fellows to the Academy.

“I am astonished and honoured to receive this fellowship. I see it as recognition of the people around me, from my wonderful colleagues in the Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy, collaborators and students, as well as a reflection of the research environment at Monash, from the research platforms to the Faculty of Engineering and its Department of Materials Science and Engineering.” Professor Etheridge said.

Professor Joanne Etheridge joined Monash University in 2002 as a Senior Lecturer and subsequently led the establishment of the Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy.

Professor Etheridge has developed new electron diffraction and microscopy techniques to measure the structure of materials at the atomic scale. Through the application of these, as well as established techniques, she has solved several otherwise intractable problems across a diverse range of functional materials, including, superconductors, semiconductors, ion-conductors, photoactive and plasmonic materials.

Professor Etheridge has also led the establishment of ultrahigh resolution (‘aberration-corrected’) electron microscopy in Australia, building the necessary theoretical and experimental expertise, as well as providing education and mentorship to many young researchers in this field.

Monash University’s Vice Provost (Research and Research Infrastructure) Professor Ian Smith celebrates Professor Etheridge’s recognition, highlighting Monash’s fortune to have a globally recognised scientist leading the research in highly progressive fields like electron microscopy.

“Professor Etheridge has not only developed and led high impact research, but most notably has been a formidable scientist and Director for our Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy”

Dean of Engineering Professor Elizabeth Croft said she was delighted to hear that Professor Joanne Etheridge has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.

“Professor Etheridge has made a major contribution to the field of Materials Science and Engineering through her world-leading work, which has placed Australia and the Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy near the top of the field.

“Her leadership in the development of microscopy tools and techniques has contributed to a fantastic array of discoveries in materials science, and her work has attracted collaborations with top materials researchers both nationally and internationally.”

“Many of these discoveries have quickly translated into important outcomes in areas such as corrosion prevention and coatings, energetic and biocompatibility properties, and new stronger, lighter, and more sustainable materials,” she continued. “Australia’s leadership in Materials Science and Engineering benefits greatly from Professor Etheridge’s commitment to delivering the world’s best microscopy in service of the world’s best research.”

In a ceremony in Canberra, Australian Academy of Science President, Professor John Shine, congratulated the new Fellows for making significant and lasting impacts in their scientific disciplines.

“These scientists were elected by their Academy peers following a rigorous evaluation process. What stands out among the new Fellows elected this year is the collective impact of their science on an international scale,” Professor Shine said.

Professor Etheridge is one of four physics-based scientists to be appointed Fellow this year, however is also one of eight females to be honoured in 2019.

For more information on Professor Joanne Etheridge and the Monash Centre for Electron Microscopy please visit their website