Research Supervisors - School of Chemistry

Share
Share
Supervisor NameResearch AreasTelephoneEmail address
Prof. Phil AndrewsChiral metal amides; main group geminal organodimetallic complexes; bismuth compounds; SmartPrint CRC: Materials for the modification of paper and polymer surfaces including new nanomaterial coatings for ink-dye encapsulation, precursors and new coatings by atmospheric plasma CVD, chemical sensors and indicators; Green Chemistry - solvent free metal mediated syntheses+61 3 9905 5509Phil.Andrews@monash.edu
Prof. Stuart BattenCrystal engineering; X-ray crystallography; supramolecular chemistry; inorganic chemistry; coordination polymers; catalysis; microporosity; transition metals; lanthanide metals.+61 3 9905 4606Stuart.Batten@monash.edu
Dr Toby BellSingle molecule spectroscopy of novel luminescent materials using fluorescence correlation spectroscopy, wide field fluorescence microscopy and time-resolved fluorescence. Materials of interest include novel dye molecules, fluorescent polymers, semiconductor nanoparticles and fluorescent proteins. Interested in studying electron and energy transfer (FRET), fluorescence “blinking” and conformational changes/movements in single molecules. Toby.Bell@monash.edu
Prof. Louise Bennett

Chemical reactivity of food macro- and micro-nutrients during processing and cooking; Impact of food processing on digestibility and absorption and consequences for health; Applications of phytochemicals for regulating oxidative stress and inflammation (OSI) in promoting wellness and disease intervention; Role of reactive oxygen and nitrogen species in health; Functional characterisation of the microbiota and relationships to nutrient intake; Protein stability and optimisation of nutritional efficacy; Dairy chemistry.

+61 3 9905 6136louise.bennett1@monash.edu
Prof. Alan BondTheory, instrumentation and application of electrochemistry in sensing, ionic liquids, trace analysis.  Fundamental studies with polyoxometalates, photoelectrochemistry and solid state electrochemistry.+61 3 9905 1338Alan.Bond@monash.edu
Prof. Alan ChaffeeThe recovery, conversion and utilisation of solid, liquid and gas fuels. In particular the development of efficiency improvements and emission reductions associated with their use.+61 3 9905 4626Alan.Chaffee@monash.edu
Dr Perran CookCycling of organic matter and nutrients in coastal ecosystems including: nutrient cycling in stratified estuaries and lagoons; nutrient cycling in permeable (sandy) sediments; bioavailability and sources of dissolved organic matter and nutrients.+61 3 990 54091Perran.Cook@monash.edu
Prof. Glen DeaconRare earths; main group elements; precious metals; synthesis and catalysis; organometallics; coordination compounds; organooxo- and organoamidometallics; corrosion inhibitors; anticancer compounds; ionic liquids; MOCVD precursors; metals in the environment.+61 3 9905 4568Glen.Deacon@monash.edu
Dr Alison FunstonNanoscience; energy transfer; electron transfer; optical spectroscopy; kinetics; fluorescence spectroscopy; conjugated polymers; nanotechnology; surface plasmon resonance; quantum dots.+61 3 990 56292Alison.Funston@monash.edu
A/Prof. Mike GraceAquatic chemistry; biogeochemical cycling of metals and nutrients; stream metabolism; freshwater ecology; natural resource management; bayesian networks.+61 3 9905 4078Mike.Grace@monash.edu
Prof. Milton HearnGreen chemistry; analytical chemistry; biotechnology; nanostructured functional materials; surface modification of polymers; solid phase synthesis; characterization and immobilization of bioactive compounds associated with molecular recognition; molecular self-assembly phenomena.+61 3 990 54547Milton.Hearn@monash.edu
Dr Ekaterina (Katya) Izgorodina PasApplications of quantum chemistry to ionic materials; ionic liquids and plastic crystals; including the development of computational approaches to selection and design of ionic materials for electrochemical applications such as batteries and fuel cells.+61 3 9905 8639Ekaterina.Pas@monash.edu
Prof. Roy JacksonMetal-catalysed organic reactions; drug discovery; energy chemistry; soil improvers and other uses of biowaste; paints from renewable resources.+61 3 9905 4552Roy.Jackson@monash.edu
Prof. Cameron JonesModern main group chemistry; low oxidation state and/or low coordination number; applications to synthesis.+61 3 9902 0391Cameron.Jones@monash.edu
Prof. Steven LangfordConcept transfers from nature; molecular devices and machines (including logic); electron transfer processes; peptide nucliec acids as antisense and diagnostic applications+61 3 9905 4569Steven.Langford@monash.edu
Dr David LuptonThe development of catalytic reactions for the synthesis of chiral organic molecules and their application in the synthesis of biologically relevant targets.+61 3 9902 0327David.Lupton@monash.edu
Prof. Doug MacFarlaneMaterials chemistry; ionic liquids; solar cells; batteries; capacitors.+61 3 9905 4540Douglas.Macfarlane@monash.edu
Prof. Don McNaughtonHigh resolution molecular spectroscopy of gases of atmospheric and interstellar significance; vibrational micro-spectroscopy and microspectroscopic imaging of biological systems; application to biomedicine; biology; biodiagnostics.+61 3 9905 4525Don.McNaughton@monash.edu
Prof. Philip MarriottGas chromatography; mass pectrometry; multidimensional and comprehensive 2D GC; absolute configuration by using chromotography with spectroscopic methods; capillary electrophoresis; high performance liquid chromatography; analytical chemistry; application of chromatography methods in the analysis of illicit drugs, petrochemicals, pesticides, essential oils, foods & beverages, herbs & spices, metabolomics.+61 3 990 59630Philip.Marriott@monash.edu
A/Prof. Lisa MartinBiological and medicinal chemistry of metalloproteins and biomolecules: protein electrochemistry and biophysics; biosensors; neurodegeneration; protein-protein/nucleic acid interaction; membrane & biocompatible surfaces.+61 3 990 54514Lisa.Martin@monash.edu
Prof. Keith MurraySynthesis, magnetochemical, structural and spectroscopic studies of transition metal  compounds displaying molecular magnetic properties such as long range order and spin switching.  These include large clusters of manganese and iron that show single molecule magnetism and nanomagnetic possibilities.+61 3 9905 4512Keith.Murray@monash.edu
Dr Andy OhlinDynamic NMR and mass spectrometry, synthesis and aqueous reactivity of metal-oxide clusters+61 3 990 51403Andy.Ohlin@monash.edu
A/Prof. Tony PattiStructure, reactivity and uses of Natural Organic Matter (NOM), from soils, lignites, and composts. Applications of “green” catalytic processes that transform NOM and assist carbon sequestration in soil. Utilisation and transformation of biomass for producing feed-stocks, fuel additives and soil amendments.+61 3 9905 1620Tony.Patti@monash.edu
Prof. Patrick PerlmutterTotal synthesis; asymmetric synthesis; medicinal chemistry; cancer; HIV.+61 3 9905 4522Patrick.Perlmutter@monash.edu
A/Prof. Andrea RobinsonOrganic synthesis; asymmetric synthesis; organometallic catalysis; medicinal chemistry; peptide synthesis; peptidomimetics; cascade/tandem reactions.+61 3 9905 4553Andrea.Robinson@monash.edu
Dr Kei SaitoDeveloping new synthesis and production methods for novel sustainable/environment benign materials and alternative energy materials based on the principles of Green Chemistry. Green chemistry is an academic field in chemistry that is concerned with the design of safe processes and products. In addition, when green chemistry is used in material production, the new material should not only be more environmentally benign but also perform as well and be more economical than alternative materials.+61 3 990 54600Kei.Saito@monash.edu
Prof. Leone SpicciaBiological and medicinal chemistry including enzyme mimics; PNA-metal complex hybrids; anti-HIV agents; biosensors and imaging agents; bioconjugates  for neuroscience (Alzheimer’s); protein purification; solar energy conversion including dye sensitized solar cells; water splitting devices; metal ion speciation and complexation.+61 3 9905 4526Leone Spiccia@monash.edu
Dr Andreas StaschOrganometallic chemistry, in particular organolithium compounds and low oxidation state guanidinate complexes+61 3 990 55442Andreas.Stasch@monash.edu
Dr Chenghua SunDesigning high-performance materials and catalysts for energy conversion and storage, including sunlight-driven water-splitting for hydrogen production, photocatalysis, batteries and fuel cells.+61 3 9902 9916Chenghua.Sun@monash.edu
Dr Rico TaborColloid and surface science. Interplay between the fundamental forces and interactions that drive assembly at nanometre scales. Novel stabilisers, responsive molecules, self-assembled and liquid crystalline phases.+61 3 990 54558Rico.Tabor@monash.edu
Dr Christopher ThompsonTandem mass spectrometry of ion-molecule reactions, high resolution synchrotron spectroscopy of small molecules and computational chemistry.+ 61 3 9905 9362Christopher.Thompson@monash.edu
Dr Kellie TuckChemical biology at the interface between chemistry and biology; organic synthesis and enzymology to discover new drug targets to treat common ailments and diseases.+61 3 9905 4510Kellie.Tuck@monash.edu
Dr David TurnerSupramolecular chemistry; organic crystal engineering; anion-sensing; neutron crystallography; porous coordination polymers; anion-templated networks.+61 3 990 56293David.Turner@monash.edu
A/Prof. Bayden WoodRaman and FTIR spectroscopy of cells and tissues; malaria diagnostics and treatment; cancer screening; stem cell research; oocyte research; AFM/Raman spectroscopy of cells; algae research.+61 3 990 55721Bayden.Wood@monash.edu
Dr Brendan WilkinsonOrganic synthesis and functional supramolecular materials that includes dynamic combinational chemistry as a tool for the discovery of new catalysts and new cyclodextrin derivatives for drug delivery and as functional nanomaterial; Biological and medicinal chemistry that includes dynamic combinational chemistry; oligonucleotide based drug for the treatment of autoimmune diseases, carbohydrate –based drug discovery; glycopeptide- based vaccine for neglected tropical diseases.+61 3 990 58387Brendan.Wilkinson@monash .edu
Dr Jie ZhangElectrochemistry; nanotechnology; biosensors; catalysis; ionic liquids; carbon based materials; fuel cells; electrodeposition; numerical simulation.+61 3 990 56289Jie.Zhang@monash.edu
Dr Xinyi ZhangMorphogenesis, structure and application of functional materials; Hierarchically structured porous membranes for energy conversion, storage and green chemical technology.+61 3 990 24619Xinyi.Zhang@monash.edu