Research Supervisors - School of Physics

Share
Share
Supervisor NameResearch AreasTelephoneEmail address
Dr Russell AndersonUltra cold quantum gases; their spin degrees of freedom and wave/function engineering+61 3 9905 5943Russell.Anderson@monash.edu
A/Prof. Csaba BalazsSupersymmery; extra dimensions; collider phenomenology; LHC; ILC; electroweak symmetry breaking; astro-particle physics; cosmology; dark matter detection; baryogenesis; dark energy.+61 3 9902 0328Csaba.Balazs@monash.edu
Dr Alexis BishopFocusing jets of neutral molecules and atoms; slowing molecular beams; trapping neutral molecules; cooling free molecules to subkelvin temperatures; atom optics; optical tweezers.+61 3 9905 5936Alexis.Bishop@monash.edu
Dr Michael BrownObservational astronomy; galaxy evolution; wide-field imaging surveys; galaxies and dark matter halos.+61 3 9905 4498Michael.Brown@monash.edu
Dr Scott FindlayAtomic resolution spectroscopic imaging; chemical mapping; atomic resolution confocal electron microscopy.+61 3 9902 4943Scott.Findlay@monash.edu
Prof. Michael FuhrerDirac Electronic Materials. This involves the study of electronic materials which are intrinsically structured at the nanoscale, either by virtue of their physical structure (grapheme and carbon nanotubes, or CNTs) or because they exhibit an emergent topological phase (strong topological insulators, or STIs) with a metallic electronic surface state.+61 3 9905 1535Michael.Fuhrer@monash.edu
Dr Duncan GallowayObservational X-ray astronomy; equation of state for neutron stars; thermonuclear bursts in neutron stars; rapidly rotating neutron stars.+61 3 9902 0393Duncan.Galloway@monash.edu
Prof. Kristian HelmersonBose-Einstein condensates; atom optics; quantum non-equilibrium phenomena; condensed matter analogs; single molecule biophysics; biomembranes+61 3 9905 1413Kristian.Helmerson@monash.edu
Dr Marcus KitchenPhase contrast X-ray imaging technique development for biomedical applications; phase retrieval; image segmentation; diagnostic imaging.+61 3 9905 5856Marcus.Kitchen@monash.edu
Dr Jasmina Lazendic-GallowayParticle acceleration in supernova remnants (SNRs); interaction of SNRs with the interstellar medium; observation of young SNRs; search for new pulsars.+61 3 9905 1725Jasmina.Lazendic-Galloway@monash.edu
Dr Yuri LevinTheoretical astrophysics; supermassive black holes; neutron stars; gravitational waves.+61 3 9905 3646Yuri.Levin@monash.edu
Dr Kaye MorganPhase contrast X-ray imaging; Synchrotron imaging; High resolution medical imaging+61 3 9905 3611kaye.morgan@monash.edu
Prof. Michael Morgan (Head of School)Topological defects, particle cosmology, geometric phases in physics, inverse problems, X-ray phase contrast imaging and nanodynamics +61 3 9905 3645Michael.Morgan@monash.edu
A/Prof. David PaganinPhase retrieval; diffraction theory; inverse problems; BECs; Maslov indices in quantum systems; geometric phases; coherence theory; X-ray lithography; non-linear fields.+61 3 9905 3633David.Paganin@monash.edu
Daniele PellicciaX-ray diffraction imaging and microscopy; Synchrotron radiation; Phase retrieval; Statistical optics.+61 3 9905 4932daniele.pelliccia@monash.edu
Dr Tapio SimulaComputational physics of Bose-Einstein condensates; quantized vortices; topological excitations; vortex waves and quantum turbulence; quenched chaotic dynamical systems.+61 3 9905 6205Tapio.Simula@monash.edu
Dr Karen SiuSmall angle X-ray scattering; phase contrast X-ray imaging.+61 3 9902 9755Karen.Siu@sync.monash.edu.au
Dr Imants SvalbeDiscrete image transforms; nonlinear filtering; medical imaging.+61 3 9905 3679Imants.Svalbe@monash.edu
Dr Lincoln TurnerMagnetometry based on spinor Bose-Einstein condensates for measuring very weak magnetic fields at the micron scale.+61 3 9905 1726Lincoln.Turner@monash.edu
Professor Alexander Heger   
Professor John Lattanzio   
A/Professor Daniel Price   
Dr Rosemary Mardling   
Dr Dr Amanda Karakas   
Dr Paul Lasky   
Dr Jasmina Lazendic-Galloway