University of Navarra

A private, not-for-profit institution, the University of Navarra began as a school of law when it established in 1952 by St. Josemaría Escrivá de Balaguer, who also founded Opus Dei. It now has one of the strongest academic reputations in Spain while maintaining a strong Catholic ethos.

Academic highlights

Navarra has 14 faculties, two university schools, 17 institutes, a business school and other centres and institutions. The university offers more than 120 degrees, most of them bilingual both in English and Spanish and offering the opportunity to take core curriculum courses with a deep humanistic approach.


Navarra is located in the north-eastern corner of Spain, in the historical city of Pamplona. The compact city has a high standard of living and an attractive blend of 12th-century and modern architecture. Pamplona is world renowned for its annual San Fermín festival, marked by the running of the bulls through the streets.

TECNUN, the School of Engineering of University of Navarra is located in San Sebastián.
San Sebastián is a cosmopolitan city on the northern coast of Spain, close to the French border. It is very famous for its beauty and aesthetic. San Sebastián is a major tourist resort with a wide range of leisure activities. The sheltered bay of La Concha, embraced by wooded hills, is uniquely beautiful and attracts many visitors.

Did you know?

The Museum of the University of Navarra, established in 2015, is regarded as having one of the best collections of contemporary art in Spain.

Language requirements

Whilst there are a number of units are taught in English at Navarra, most units are taught in Spanish. It is recommended that you have a minimum B2 level in Spanish if you are applying for units instructed in Spanish.

Disciplines available




Banking and finance

Biological sciences

Biomedical sciences

Business law and taxation


Communications and media studies


Econometrics and business statistics


Education - early childhood

Education - primary schooling

Education - secondary schooling


Engingeering - biomedical

Engineering - chemical

Engineering - civil

Engineering - electrical and computer systems

Engineering - materials science

Engineering - mechanical and aerospace

Film and screen studies



Literary studies





Physics and astronomy

Politics and international relations

Psychological sciences


Spanish and Latin American languages & culture studies

  • The listed disciplines are not necessarily exhaustive and other fields of study might also be available at the university.
  • Approval to study particular subjects at any institution is always at the discretion of the departmental/discipline and faculty advisers in your managing faculty(ies) and subject to available places at the host campus

See the Navarra's English-taught unit catalogue here

By navigating through to the English Courses (PDF) tab, you will be presented with a list of all units on offer. Each unit title is hyperlinked to a more detailed outline.

For units specifically taught in Navarra's School of Economics and Business, please see here.

If you cannot find any unit guides after having done your own research, you can follow the process as outlined here.

Full time equivalents

  Semester Year
  Minimum 18 Monash Points Maximum 24 Monash points Minimum 36 Monash points Maximum 48 Monash points
Standard 22.5 ECTS30 ECTS45 ECTS60 ECTS

Exchange program terms

Navarra's Spring Semester (Monash Semester 1): early January – end of May
Navarra's Autumn Semester (Monash Semester 2): early September to late December

See Navarra's academic calendar here.


Navarra provides on-campus accommodation at its Pamplona, Madrid and San Sebastian campuses and can also assist with finding private accommodation.

TECNUN doesn´t have its own hosting infrastructures but offer advice. There is a service which support students trying to find accommodation for their period of study in San Sebastián.

Navarra offers advice on accommodation here.


Australian Passport holders are permitted to stay up to 90 days in Spain without a visa. Students studying for up to 6 months must apply for a student VISA at the local Spanish Consulate. Students studying for more than 6 months will also have to apply for a Student Card or Alien Identity Card within a month of arriving in Spain at the local immigration office.

Monash Abroad can only provide general information - always check with the relevant Consulate/Embassy and consider advice that is right for you.

For more information on visas, please refer to the Consulate-General of Spain here.

Navarra also provide some advice on visas, which can be found here.

Health and insurance

Students must take out medical insurance at to cover the entire period of their exchange. This means purchasing adequate private health insurance with a Spanish provider. This is required to apply for the visa.

When travelling on a Monash Abroad approved program, you are automatically covered under the Monash University Student Travel Insurance policy.

Orientation and extra-curricular 

A series of Welcome Days are held to introduce you to campus life. Find out more here.


Spanish courses are held free of charge during the academic year. Find out more here.


Tuition fees for this program are waived by the host institution. While on exchange you remain enrolled at Monash and continue to pay fees to Monash University. Find out more here.

Cost of living

One semester abroad will generally cost you approximately AUD$10,000 – $15,000, however this varies depending on destination and your individual living standards.

Monash funding

Find out about Monash Abroad Travel Scholarships here.

Find out about Monash University Travel and Placement Scholarships here.

Australian government funding

Find out about the Overseas Higher Education Loan Program (OS-HELP) here.

Have you been to University of Navarra want to share your experience? 
Let us know about your exchange via this survey form and your testimonial could be shown here!

University of Navarra

  • Program type: Semester exchange
  • Location:
    • Pamplona (main)
    • San Sebastian
  • Program periods: Semester 1, Semester 2
  • Study level: Undergraduate and Postgraduate

Find out more