Skip to Content

The 13th International Conference on Provable and Practical Security (ProvSec 2019)

Cairns, Australia, 1 - 4 October 2019


Provable security is an essential tool for analyzing security of modern cryptographic primitives. The research community has witnessed the great contributions that the provable security methodology made to the analysis of cryptographic schemes and protocols. Nowadays cryptographic primitives without a rigorous "proof" cannot be regarded as sound. Also, the methodology has been used to discover security flaws in the cryptographic schemes and protocols, which were considered seemingly secure without formal analysis. On the one hand, provable security provides confidence in using cryptographic schemes and protocols for various real-world applications, but on the other hand, schemes with provable security are sometimes not efficient enough to be used in practice, and correctness of the proofs may be difficult to verify.

Therefore, this year we decide to enrich the scope of this conference, by adding “Practical Security” into the theme. The new theme can bring together researchers and practitioners to provide a confluence of new practical cyber security technologies, including their applications and their integration with IT systems in various industrial sectors.

Call for paper

Authors are invited to submit full papers presenting new research results related to information security technologies and applications. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Asymmetric provably secure cryptography
* Symmetric cryptographic primitives
* Lattice-based security reductions
* Leakage-resilient cryptography
* Privacy and anonymity technologies
* Secure cryptographic protocols and applications
* Security notions, approaches, and paradigms
* Steganography and steganalysis
* Blockchain and Cryptocurrency
* IoT Security
* Mobile security
* Cloud security
* Access control
* Privacy enhanced technology
* Viruses and malware
* Software security
* Database security
* Web security
* Operating system security
* Intrusion detection
* Big data security and privacy
* Biometric Security
* Network security
* Formal methods for security
* Digital forensics
* Security for critical infrastructures
* Embedded systems security
* Lightweight security
* Smart grid security
* Cyber-physical security

Important Dates:

Paper Submission: 31 May 2019
Notification: 5 July 2019 
Conference: 1 – 4 October 2019


Organizing Committee

General Co-Chairs
Joseph K. Liu, Monash University, Australia
Wei Xiang, James Cook University, Australia

Program Co-Chairs
Ron Steinfeld, Monash University, Australia
Tsz Hon Yuen, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Publication Chair
Jiangshan Yu, Monash University, Australia

Publicity Chair
Xingliang Yuan, Monash University, Australia
Yu Wang, Guangzhou University, China

Program Committee


ProvSec 2019 will be held at Cairns, Australia.


The closest airport is Cairns Airport, which is 15km away from the campus. There are many international direct flights flying to Cairns (e.g. Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Guangzhou, Shanghai, Seoul, Osaka, Tokyo, Singapore, Auckland etc.) Alternatively, you can easily catch a domestic flight from any other major cities in Australia (e.g. Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth etc.)

Cairns Attractions