Skip to Content

Our Team

STAREE Investigators

School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, Victoria

Principal Investigator:
Professor Sophia Zoungas

Chief Investigators:
Professor John McNeil
Professor Andrew Tonkin
Professor Rory Wolfe
Professor Elsdon Storey
Dr Stephanie Ward
Associate Investigators:
Associate Professor Robyn Langham
Dr Andrea Curtis

Other Institutes

Chief Investigator, University of Western Australia:
Professor Lawrie Beilin

Chief Investigator, Australian National University:
Professor Walter Abhayaratna


Monash University, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine – Melbourne

Senior Clinical Trial Manager:
Dr Simone Spark

Research and Governance Manager:
Dr Andrea Curtis

Project Manager:
Natasha Gorgievski, Katja Loewe

Operations Manager:
Zachary Flanagan

Administration Manager:
Kate Vaughan/Angela Pajak

Senior Field/GP Officers:
Kara Beath, Lucy Boorn

Medical Officers:
Dr Alissia Kost, Dr Anthony Pease and Dr Naomi Szwarcbard

GP Engagement:
Yif’at Biran, Ellen Turner, Ayesha Carrim and Lucy Boorn

Participant Engagement:
Kara Beath, Ellen Turner, Alex McGregor, Olivia Brancatisano, Caroline Thomas

Data Officer/Analyst:
Miranda Polin and Praveen Baswa

Administrative Officers:
Carmin Smith (team leader), Brendan Dowling (team leader), Lucy Petric, Timothy Alexander, Simona Markusevska, Annalyse Induni, Maikel Botrosdief, Dilshara Samaranayake, Danielle Clarke, Afreen Mulla, Raphael Sanding, Lachlan Clyne, Jacqueline Kotsovolos, Vivien Luong, Anthony Eade, Cynthia Kerr, Sandy Lam, Yen Vo

Administrative Support:
Josephine Tan, Iona Zimberg and Ellen Udjir

Monash University, School of Rural Health – Victoria

GP and Participant Engagement:
Rhiannon Davidson, Sally Mueller, Jenny St John, Emma Silberstein and Bernadette Hughes

Monash University, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine – Adelaide

GP and Participant Engagement:
Sandra McKean and Gayle Clarke

Monash University, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine – Queensland

Site Lead:
Dr Gary Deed

GP and Participant Engagement:
Stephen Glanville, Gina Horn, Rhiannon Fisher, Susanne Schleich, and Morgan See

University of Tasmania, Menzies Institute for Medical Research

Chief Investigator:
Professor Mark Nelson

GP and Participant Engagement:
Kym Spathonis

Curtin University, School of Public Health, Western Australia

Associate Investigator:
Professor Christopher Reid

GP and Participant Engagement:
Sue Critchley, Annie Syred, Alison Hodge, Rachael Clear, Giselle O'Connor, Yvonne Stott and Karen French

University of Newcastle, School of Medicine and Public Health, New South Wales

Site Lead:
Professor Andrew Boyle

GP and Participant Engagement:
Rachel Wilks, Jodie Lynch, Kristine Pezdirc, Tonia Woodberry and Caroline Hill