Our Team and Contacts

Our Team and Contacts

Professor Jonathan Baell (Director)

Prof. Baell specialises in medicinal chemistry-led drug discovery with more than 25 years of experience in this field.

He has directed numerous 'hit-to-lead' and lead optimisation projects to their success, resulting in well over 100 patent applications, representing 40 granted patents on around 26 separate pharmaceutical inventions, most of which are alive and licensed to a variety of licencees on various disease areas, including cancer, autoimmunity and infectious diseases.

He has played key roles in a number of compound developments at various stages, from pre-clinical to clinical, including one in clinical trials for anxiolysis.

He has made successful collaborations and had excellent experiences with large international pharma, and been consulted widely for the Australian Biotechnology Industry.

He has been awarded the Biota Medal, a National Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry, followed by the highly prestigious Adrien Albert Award, for Sustained Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry (by Royal Australian Chemical Institute), as well as the Monash University Research Award for the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, and the Scientific Achievement Award in Drug Discovery and Development (by the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics).

Associate Professor Bernard Flynn (Co-Director)

A/Prof. Flynn has over 25 years experience in drug discovery research in both industry and academia.

His primary area of expertise is in medicinal chemistry and small-molecule drug design.

He has led a number of programs from early stage discovery and optimisation through to pre-clinical and clinical development. These efforts have been undertaken in a number of disease areas, including central nervous systems, immunology and cancer.

He is an inventor on over 20 different patent families, most of which are either pending or have been granted.

He has successfully commercialised his research outcomes through the founding of start-up companies and through Big-Pharma partnerships, realising significant returns for investors and other stake-holders.

In addition to specific drug discovery efforts, he also undertakes basic research into the development of new synthetic methods for improving lead-optimisation outcomes, providing safer and more effective drugs.

His research has been published in over 60 peer-reviewed journal articles and he has received number of awards, including the David Syme Research Prize, the Young Tall Poppy Award (ACT), the Grimwade Award for Industrial Chemistry and the Biota Award for Medicinal Chemistry.

Contact Us

The Australian Translational Medicinal Chemistry Facility (ATMCF)
Level 4, Manning Building (403)
381 Royal Parade, Parkville, VIC 3052

Prof. Jonathan Baell (Director)
Tel +61 (3) 9903 9044

A/Prof. Bernard Flynn (Co-Director)
Tel +61 (3) 9903 9650