About us

MCMI was established in 2018 to bring together the broad range of Monash academics with expertise in the areas related to membrane technology including materials development, desalination and water purification, resource recovery, sustainable energy, and other advanced separations.

MCMI aims to establish itself as a leading research centre in the field of membrane research and development. Building on the centre’s broad fields of expertise, the centre will establish a pilot scale membrane fabrication and testing facility enabling new discoveries to be translated into demonstration ready technologies.

MCMI will provide significant contributions to five of Australia’s national science and research priorities including Soil and Water, Energy, Advanced Manufacturing, Food, and Health; common priorities among other countries.

Professor Huanting Wang
Director - Chemical Engineering

Bio: Professor Wang is also the Associate Dean (International) at Monash, has more than 380 publications, 16000+ citations (h-index 67) and holds numerous fellowships with international associations. In 2019, he was awarded the R.K. Murphy Medal from the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (2019), appointed Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, and Associate Editor for, Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research.

Research Area: Nanomaterials including metal organic frameworks (MOF), zeolites, and porous carbons, and nanostructured ceramics for polymer nanocomposite and ceramic membranes, and catalysts. Prof Wang is also interested in gas separation, wastewater treatment, desalination, ion-selective membranes, and biofuel fuel cell systems.

Professor Matthew Hill
Deputy Director - Chemical Engineering

Bio: Associate Professor Hill is jointly appointed as a Senior Principal Scientist at CSIRO and has over 105 publication with 4500+ citations (h-index 37), 13 patents (2 licenses granted), and is involved in over $20M worth of research projects. Prof Hill was awarded the inaugural David and Valerie Solomon Award, is an Australian Research Council Future Fellow and the Winner of a 2014 Australian Prime Minister’s Prize for Science.

Research Area: Development and application of porous materials: storage, separation and triggered release of small molecules with adsorbents and membranes, flow chemistry, lithium-sulfur batteries and supercapacitors. Prof Hill is also interested in control aging and plasticization in mixed matrix membranes.

Professor Xiwang Zhang
Deputy Director - Chemical Engineering

Bio: Professor Zhang is Director of the ARC Hub for Energy Efficient Separations (ARC-EES) and currently serves on the board of the Membrane Society of Australasia. His work has been cited more than 7000 times and has more than 130 publications in journals including Energy & Environmental Sciences, Advanced Materials, J. Am. Chem. Soc, Advanced functional materials, Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., and is working with Oxfam to supply low-cost membrane systems to developing nations.

Research Area: High performance multi-functional hierarchical structured membranes and non-polyamide-based polymer composite for water purification and wastewater treatment. Prof Zhang is also interested in advanced oxidation technologies including solar-induced and dark-active photocatalytic membranes for water disinfection