Council is the governing body of Monash University, established by the Monash University Act 2009.  It is chaired by the Chancellor, currently Mr Simon McKeon AO.  The Deputy Chancellors are Dr Megan Clark AC, The Hon Simon Crean and The Hon Peter Young AM QC.

Council is responsible for the overall superintendence of the University with specific accountability to the relevant State and Commonwealth Ministries for the University's fulfilment of its role in the Australian community.  It discharges that role by deliberating on strategies and policies to achieve the University's objects and by ensuring that the University has in place appropriate and effective governance processes.

This website offers a range of information relevant to the Monash University Council, including links to:


Enquiries to the Chancellor

Mr Simon McKeon AO

Secretary to Council

Mr Richard Long