Our people - Ageing and Neurodegeneration

Program Lead

Professor Julie Stout

E: Julie.Stout@monash.edu

Professor Julie Stout leads a team of postdocs, students, and IT specialists, employing techniques from neuropsychology and cognitive neuroscience to characterise the effects of neurodegeneration on cognition and brain function. Her research group is known for innovations in assessments using computerised and sensor-based approaches.

Professor Stout is a leading international expert in Huntington’s Disease. Her team has led the cognitive component of several large, international studies, which have described the cognitive, motor, psychiatric, and brain imaging changes in people with the Huntington’s Disease gene as they progress from normal functioning to manifest Huntington’s Disease. Professor Stout also led a 20-site international study that yielded the HD-CAB, which is now the standard cognitive assessment battery for clinical trials in Huntington’s Disease. She also co-leads the Scientific Oversight Committee of Enroll-HD (sponsor CHDI Foundation, New York, USA), the largest ever study of people from Huntington’s Disease families, which has over 12,000 participants globally. A key translation of Professor Stout’s research is that the diagnosis of Huntington’s Disease is now being refined to take into account, for the first time, cognitive changes rather than focusing exclusively on the movement disorder symptoms.

Professor Stout is Director of Stout Neuropsych Pty Ltd. – a spin-out company that provides an assessment platform and services for cognitive assessment in clinical trials to pharmaceutical sponsors. Her team collaborates with multiple industry partners, pushing innovation by integrating emerging technologies such as mobile devices and sensors into clinical trials, with the aim of capturing individual differences in both disease phenotypes and responsivity to treatments.

Program Deputy Lead

Yifat-G-J-web.jpgDr Yifat Glikmann-Johnston

E: Yifat.Glikmann-johnston@monash.edu

Dr Yifat Glikmann-Johnston is a cognitive neuroscientist and a clinical neuropsychologist. She completed the combined Master of Psychology (Clinical Neuropsychology) and PhD at the University of Melbourne in 2009. From there Dr Glikmann-Johnston worked as a research and clinical fellow at Tel Aviv University and Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center (2009 - 2013), funded by the European Commission 7th Framework Programme Marie Curie International Reintegration Grant. Dr Glikmann-Johnston's current research, supported by the NHMRC-ARC Dementia Research Development Fellowship, investigates spatial learning and memory in Huntington's disease. She uses virtual environments and imaging techniques such as MRI to study associated patterns of brain function and structure.

Other Key Team Members

Professor Gary Egan

E: Gary.Egan@monash.edu

Professor Nellie Georgiou-Karistianis

E: Nellie.Georgiou-Karistianis@monash.edu

Professor Mathew Mundy

E Matthew.Mundy@monash.edu

Associate Professor Adrian Carter

E: Adrian.Carter@monash.edu

Dr Trevor Chong

E: Trevor.Chong@monash.edu

Dr James Coxon

E: James.Coxon@monash.edu

Dr Sharna Jamadar

E: Sharna.Jamadar@monash.edu