Lab members

We are an interdisciplinary team comprising people with diverse backgrounds in psychology, physics, engineering, medicine, and biology. We work together and learn from each other in our efforts to understand the brain.

Sean P.A. Drummond
Lab head

Email: sean.drummond@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep deprivation, mental health, cognition, insomnia, PTSD, consumer sleep trackers.

View Monash research profile

ORCiD | Google Scholar

Postdoctoral Fellows
 

Alexander Wolkow
Fellow

Email: alexander.wolkow@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep disorders, mental health, stress, PTSD, shift work, sleep restriction, occupational settings, physical health, emergency services, burnout

View Monash research profile

ORCiD | ResearchGate |  Google Scholar

Twitter: @wolkow_research

 

Alix Mellor
Fellow

Email: alix.mellor@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep disorders, psychological conditions, mental health, insomnia, actigraphy

View Monash research profile

ResearchGate | LinkedIn

 

Jacob Clark
Fellow

Email: jacob.clark@monash.edu

PTSD, sex differences, circadian disruption, sleep architecture, orexin, hypnotic therapy, fear conditioning, fear extinction, safety learning.

ORCiD

PhD Students
 

Johanna Boardman
PhD student

Email: johanna.boardman@monash.edu

Sleep deprivation, cognition, performance monitoring, error-monitoring

ORCiD

 

Eleni Kavaliotis
Clinical PhD student

Email: eleni.kavaliotis@monash.edu

Learning, conditioning, sleep, sleep disturbance, psychological disorders, mental health, insomnia, eating disorders, addiction, PTSD

Elliot Brooker
Clinical Neuro PhD student

Email: elliot.brooker@monash.edu

Sleep disorders, mental health, Insomnia, CBT-I, obstructive sleep apnoea (OSA) pathogenesis, actigraphy, bi-directionality of insomnia and OSA

Rachael Harris
PhD student

Email: rachael.harris1@monash.edu

Sleep, mental health, physical health, shift work, shift work disorder, shift work tolerance

 

Vivien Vuong
Clinical PhD student

Email: vivien.vuong@monash.edu

PTSD, trauma, mental health, insomnia, sleep, fear conditioning, extinction, safety learning, sex differences

ORCiD | Linkedin

 

Jeryl Lim
PhD student

Email: jeryl.lim@monash.edu

Sleep deprivation, cognition, cognitive testing, probabilistic decision-making, risk preference 

ORCiD | Linkedin 

Research Staff
 

David Litewka
Sleep Technician

Email: david.litewka@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep scoring, sleep disruption, insomnia, circadian misalignment,  CPAP titration, O2 titration

LinkedIn

 

Lawra Alkalame
Research Assistant

Email: lawra.alkalame@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep deprivation, trauma, PTSD, intrusive memories

Linkedin

 

Eliza Costin
Research Assistant & Study Coordinator

Email: eliza.costin@monash.edu

Honours Students
 

Kiandra Tomlinson
Honours student, 2022

Email: kiandra.tomlinson@monash.edu

Co-sleeping, sleep deprivation, sleeping pills (specifically benzodiazepines), addiction, PTSD, mental health, cognition

LinkedIn

Interns
 

Janani Rajaram
Intern

Trauma and PTSD, intrusive memories, stress, sleep, CBT-I, palliative psychology

LinkedIn

Recent Graduates

July Lies
Clinical PhD, 2021
Clinical Psychology Resigstrar

Email: july.lies@monash.edu

Sleep disturbance, PTSD, mental health, pre-sleep arousal, trauma population, refugees.

ResearchGate | LinkedIn

Elizabeth Walters
Clinical PhD, 2020
Clinical Psychology Registrar

Sleep, insomnia, improving effectiveness and accessibility of mental health care

Elissa Pasula
DPsych (Neuro), 2020
Clinical Neuropsychologist

Sleep and cognition, healthy and ageing populations, neurodegenerative disorders

Courtney Anthonisz
Industry Based Learning intern, 2019
 

Kellie Hamill
Project Coordinator

Email: kellie.hamill@monash.edu

Sleep, insomnia, mental health, consumer sleep trackers, actigraphy, validation, sleep disruption, nutrition

ORCiD | ResearchGate | LinkedIn

Twitter: @Kellie_l_Hamill

 

Michelle Bravo
Project Coordinator

Email: michelle.bravo@monash.edu

Sleep, sleep disruption, cognitive task development, physiological modelling