3 Minute Thesis Competition 2023

What is the 3 Minute Thesis competition?

3MT® is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate research and share it with the community, all within the context of an exciting and supportive competition.

An 80,000 word thesis would take 9 hours to present - these researchers have 3 minutes!

The winner of this Arts Faculty round will then proceed to compete at the University final, where they could walk away with $5000 and be on the way to represent Monash at the Asia Pacific final!

This year's Faculty of Arts 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) competition was held in person on Thursday 29th June 2023. 

Stay tuned for details of the 2024 3MT competition.  Find out more

Big congratulations to Eliza Nicoll (Literary & Cultural Studies HDR Program, School of Languages, Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics) who will now represent the Arts faculty at the University finals.

Benjamin Lewis (Social and Political Sciences HDR Program, School of Social Sciences) took out the Arts People's Choice award and will enter the University Wildcard Competition to battle it out for another opportunity to participate in the University finals.

Eliza Nicoll

Thesis Title "Hell on Earth: Translating Trauma in Hiroshima Memoirs"

Left to right: Eliza Nicoll (Faculty of Arts 3MT Competition 2023 Winner - $500 prize) and Dr Kate Fitch (Judging Panellist)

Benjamin Lewis

Thesis Title "Exploring inter-group partnering among the Australian Jewish community"

Left to right: Dr Michelle Smith (Judging Panellist), Benjamin Lewis (Faculty of Arts 3MT People's Choice 2023 Winner - $50 voucher and MGA  gift pack) and Jessica Fimmel (Sponsor of the People's Choice prize)

3MT Contestants and Judges

Left to right: Dr Kate Fitch, Dr Michelle Smith, Eliza Nicoll, Benjamin Lewis and Dr Paul Muldoon

Award Presentations

Dr Laura Hartnell awarded the 2022 Mollie Holman Award and Faculty of Arts Prize for Outstanding PhD Thesis ($5,000 prize)

Left to right: Emeritus Professor John Rickard (Sponsor of the Faculty of Arts Prize for Outstanding PhD Thesis) and Dr Laura Hartnell

Dr Niccolò Negro awarded the 2022 Vic-Chancellor's Commendation for Thesis Excellence ($500 prize)

Unfortunately Dr Negro was unable to attend the event  and his award and prize was presented in absentia.

Dr Geraldine Fela awarded  the 2022 Faculty of Arts  PhD Thesis High Commendation ($250 prize)

Left to right: Dr Geraldine Fela and A/Professor Megan Farrelly (Associate Dean Graduate Research)