Mollie Holman Medal and Vice-Chancellor’s Commendations for Thesis Excellence

The Mollie Holman Medal was established in 1998 and is named after the late pioneering physiologist Emeritus Professor Mollie Homan AO, in honour of her significant contributions to science and education. These medals are among the highest academic honours we bestow, and mark the recipients as researchers of the higher order.

Each year, a maximum of ten medals are awarded to doctoral students, who have fulfilled their degree requirements and presented their faculty’s best thesis of the year.

The Vice-Chancellor’s commendations for thesis excellence are also awarded annually to outstanding doctoral and research master’s thesis excellence. A maximum of five Commendations are awarded each year.

These schemes are managed by the Monash Graduate Research Office. Guidelines and information on the nomination and selection processes can be accessed from the MGRO intranet.

Past winners from the Faculty of Arts





2022Dr Peter David HarrisLiterary and Cultural StudiesGloria Davies and David Chandler
2021 Bonnie Reid Literary and Cultural Studies Ali Alizadeh and Melinda Harvey
2020 Gene Flenady Philosophy 
Alison Ross and Stephen Houlgate (Warwick)
2019 Jennifer Anderson Literary and Cultural Studies Gloria Davies and Chandani Lokuge
2018 Robert Gunn Historical Studies  Bruno David; Ian McNiven