Monash Law students win 2022 Ian Fletcher International Insolvency Moot

The Monash Law student team is the first Australian team to win the Fletcher Moot since its inception in 2017.

Above: Kimberley Ng, William Lye OAM QC (coach), William Liu and Vanessa Hynes.

Congratulations to Kimberley Ng, William Liu and Vanessa Hynes, members of our outstanding mooting team who have won the 2022 Ian Fletcher International Insolvency Moot.

The team of Monash Law students took out the Grand Final against National University of Singapore. They are the first Australian team to win the Fletcher Moot since its inception in 2017.

William Liu won the Best Individual Mooter for both the Semi Final and the Grand Final. Monash University and National University of Singapore were joint runners-up for the Written Submissions.

The Fletcher Moot is a global competition focusing on international cross-border insolvency law disputes. The Fletcher Moot is named after Emeritus Professor Ian Fletcher QC (hc) who was an eminent scholar, internationally recognised for his outstanding achievements in the field of insolvency law.

The competition attracts the best and brightest students from around the globe. 38 teams competed in the Written Round and 16 teams advanced to the Oral Round. The moot problem is a fictional case taking place in a hypothetical jurisdiction that has adopted the UNICITRAL Model Law of Cross-Border Insolvency and the UNCITRAL Model Law on Enterprise Group Insolvency. The competition is run out of INSOL International, London.

The competition is an opportunity for students to engage with their peers, members of international insolvency institutions, and judges from 17 countries around the world.

The bench of the Grand Final round comprised judges including Justice Elsbeth de Vos (Amsterdam District Court), Professor Dr. Georg Kodek (Justice of the Supreme Court of Austria) and Judge Susana Hidvegi (Former Chief Bankruptcy Judge en Superintendencia de Sociedades, Colombia).

Congratulations to Kimberley, William and Vanessa for this amazing achievement! Thank you to Chief Moot Coach William Lye OAM QC, and to Anthony Lo Surdo SC of the NSW Bar who provided valuable feedback and guidance to our team.