ANZCA Clinical Trials Network

Australia and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists Clinical Trials Network (ANZCA CTN)

Allison Kearney talks about 2020's challenges 
and achievements for ANZCA CTN. See video

The ANZCA CTN is working towards a common vision to be a world leader in delivering high-quality trial evidence that translates into safe and effective practice in anaesthesia, perioperative and pain medicine.

The CTN office staff based at Central Clinical School (CCS), Ms Karen Goulding and Ms Gillian Ormond, under the leadership of Professor Paul Myles (Head of ANZCA CTN at CCS) and Professor Andrew Davidson (Chair of the CTN Executive), support a network of more than 70 sites across Australia and New Zealand facilitating CTN-endorsed clinical trials led by world leading trialists at Monash University and partnering research institutions. They provide mentorship and run workshops for investigators and anaesthesia research coordinators in the network, as well provide support to sites to get started in research. This has driven research capacity throughout Australia and New Zealand, in particular in NSW, where there is more than double the number of sites participating in CTN trials since 2015.

The CTN office is coordinating NHMRC funded trials, the PADDI trial, led by Professor Tomas Corcoran (WA), and the POISE-3 trial led by Professor Kate Leslie (Vic) and Dr Tom Painter (SA). The office will also coordinate the newly MRFF funded study, LOLIPOP trial, also led by Professor Tomas Corcoran.

For more information about the ANZCA CTN and the clinical trials that are running, visit the ANZCA website.

About us

  Professor Paul Myles


Head of ANZCA Clinical Trials Network in CCS

Professor Myles was the founding Chair of the ANZCA CTN. He currently leads two major NHMRC-funded trials, TRIGS and ITACS. He is an NHMRC Practitioner Fellow, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science, and a member of the US National Academy of Medicine.  In 2017 he received the Excellence in Research Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists.

  Karen Goulding BSc(Hons), MPH

ANZCA Clinical Trials Network Manager

Karen Goulding joined the ANZCA CTN in 2014 and her primary role is to provide high quality research support to the CTN. Karen also assists the network to form new collaborations with other trials networks, nationally and internationally, and support ANZCA fellows, trainees and research coordinators in areas such as survey research, pilot grant scheme, mentoring and through ANZCA publications and research workshops. Karen's background is in basic research and public health and was previously employed as a project officer at the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre where she coordinated a range of projects for the Gynaecological Oncology Research Collaborative.

T: +61 (0)3 9903 0942

  Gillian Ormond BSc(Hons), MSc

ANZCA Senior Clinical Trials Network Coordinator

Gillian joined the ANZCA Clinical Trials Network in June 2018, coordinating sites in Australian and New Zealand for the Canadian led POISE-3 Trial, and supporting the Anaesthesia Research Coordinator Network.  She has experience in coordinating paediatric clinical trials at several departments in the Murdoch Children's Research Institute including Anaesthesia and Pain Management, Emergency Research and Infectious Disease and Microbiology. Gillian also previously worked as a project manager on the Hazelwood Health Study in Monash University. Gillian's background is in genetics and epidemiology.

  Paige Druce BSc(Hons), BSc (Hons), MSc (Epi)

ANZCA Clinical Trials Network Coordinator

Paige Druce joined the ANZCA CTN in 2021 and has since worked to support the Anaesthesia Research Coordinator Network, and managed multiple trials through the CTN office, including the LOLIPOP Trial, POISE-III, and currently the CALIPSO Trial. She has experience coordinating clinical trials and previously worked as a Research Coordinator at the University of Melbourne with the Primary Care Collaborative Cancer Clinical Trials Group (PC4) group where she conducted and published several systematic reviews and other research projects. Paige's background is in biomedical science, and epidemiology. She also has extensive experience with consumer engagement and sits on the Monash Central Clinical School Community and Researcher Engagement (CaRE) Committee.

  Professor Andrew J. Davidson


Chair of the CTN Executive

Professor Davidson is a Senior Staff Anaesthetist at the Royal Children's Hospital, head of Anaesthesia Research at the Murdoch Childrens Research Institute and Professor in the Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne. Andrew is also the Medical Director of the Melbourne Children's Trials Centre. He trained in anaesthesia in Melbourne, Nottingham, Rotterdam and Boston. He has received a Diploma of Biostatistics and Epidemiology and Doctorate of Medicine (MD) from the University of Melbourne and is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science. He is currently editor-in-chief for the journal Paediatric Anaesthesia, and an Executive Editor for Anesthesiology.

  Professor Tomas Corcoran


Deputy chair of the CTN Executive

Professor Corcoran is a Senior Staff Anaesthetist at Royal Perth Hospital where he is also the Director of Research at the Department of Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine. He is Clinical Professor at the School of Medicine and Pharmacology at the University of Western Australia, and at the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine in Monash University. He trained in internal medicine and anaesthesia in Ireland and completed a cardiothoracic anaesthesia fellowship in London before migrating to Australia to complete training in Intensive Care Medicine. He holds a doctorate of medicine (MD) from University College Cork in Ireland and is an experienced clinical trialist. He is the Chief Investigator for the NHMRC-funded PADDI trial and the MRFF-funded LOLIPOP trial.