Monash University architects win at the 2019 Victorian Architecture Awards

Staff, adjunct professors and students from Monash University Architecture have been honoured at the prestigious Australian Institute of Architects 2019 Victorian Architecture Awards.

The awards recognise the highest standards of architecture and design in the state.

Monash Practice Professor Nigel Bertram, lecturer Timothy Moore, PhD candidate and sessional lecturer Justin Mallia and Adjunct Professors Peter Elliot, Kerstin Thompson, John Denton and Rob McGauran were all recognised for their exceptional work and contributions to architecture. Working with his studio, Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design, Peter created the Award’s most recognised project: the Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe. he was also awarded the prestigious Melbourne Prize and the Victorian Architecture Medal, as well as awards for Urban Design, Public Architecture, Sustainable Architecture, and a commendation for Heritage.

Professor Shane Murray, Dean, Faculty of Art, Design and Architecture and practising architect said, “We’re proud to see our researchers, staff and students recognised for their inspiring contributions to architecture in the state of Victoria. The work shows a highly-considered approach across all aspects of design including urban, public, heritage, interior and big data.”

These architects are influencing and transforming the shape of our cities and our suburbs, and they are passing that knowledge through to the next generation of architects studying at Monash.

Professor Shane Murray, Dean, Faculty Art, Design and Architecture

Monash staff award winners


Nigel Bertram, Practice Professor of Architecture

Residential Architecture – Houses (New) 
The Harold Desbrowe – Annear Award
Project: North Melbourne House

Winner: NMBW Architecture Studio

Professor Nigel Bertram is Director of NMBW Architecture Studio and a Practice Professor of Architecture at Monash University.

NMBW’s North Melbourne House confidently tackles real issues – an aging population, rising house prices, sustainability and urban sprawl. The continual dialogue between house and inhabitant combined with the plethora of issues addressed left the jury with no other choice than to give it the 2019 Harold Desbrowe-Annear Award.

Chapter Jury

Image: North Melbourne House. Photo: Peter Bennetts.


Timothy Moore, Lecturer in Architecture

Small Project Architecture
Commendation: New Agency by Sibling Architecture.

Timothy Moore is a director of Sibling Architecture and lecturer of architecture at Monash University.

Description: Sibling Architecture generated an environment for live data collection to look at future models of living.

Image: New Agency. Photo: James Whiting.

Monash sessional staff award winner


Justin Mallia, PhD candidate and sessional lecturer

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
The Best Overend Award: Scarborough and Welkin

Sustainable Architecture Award
Project: Scarborough and Welkin

Awarded to: Justin Mallia Architecture

While rich in its provision of environmentally positive initiatives, it was this project’s overall message of successful reuse, its self-awareness, adaptability and efficient footprint that led this jury to consider it an exemplar for residential densification and worthy of the 2019 Best Overend Award.

Chapter Jury

Image: Scarborough and Welkin. Photo: Peter Bennetts.

Monash Adjunct Professors award winners


Peter Elliott, Adjunct Professor of Architecture Practice

Awarded the prestigious Melbourne Prize and Victorian Architecture Medal

Public Architecture
The William Wardell Award: Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe

Urban Design
The Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design: Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe

Sustainable Architecture
The Allan and Beth Coldicutt Award: Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe

Commendation: Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe

Awarded to: Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design

Professor Peter Elliott, is an Adjunct Professor of Architecture Practice at Monash University, a Life Fellow of the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) and is one of Australia’s most awarded architects.

Image: Parliament of Victoria Members' Annexe. Photo: John Gollings.


Kerstin Thompson, Adjunct Professor of Architecture Practice

Commercial Architecture
The Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award: Private Women’s Club

The John George Knight Award: Sacred Heart Building Abbotsford Convent Foundation

Small project
Award Jock Comini Reserve Amenities – Kerstin Thompson Architects

Awarded to: Kerstin Thompson Architects

Since establishing her own practice in 1994, Kerstin Thompson has become one of Australia’s most accomplished, awarded and recognised architects.

Image: Private Women’s Club. Photo: Derek Swalwell.


John Denton, Adjunct Professor of Architecture Practice

Biomedical Learning and Teaching Building, Monash University

Denton Corker Marshall Studio

Awarded to: Denton Corker Marshall

John Denton is well-known and highly admired in Australia and overseas as an outstanding architect and a leader in contributing to the improvement of the built environment.

Image: Biomedical Learning and Teaching Building, Monash University. Photo: Tim Griffith.


Rob McGauran, Adjunct Professor of Architecture Practice

Public Architecture
Commendation: Rosanna Station

Urban Design
Commendation: Rosanna Station

Awarded to MGS Architects and Jacobs Architects

Rob is a founding member of the multi-disciplinary design practice of McGauran Giannini Soon (MGS), which views the architect as advocate and enabler for both design and future place and the role of research in practice.

Image: Rosanna Station. Photo: Latreille Architectural Photography.