Our people

The Centre for Health Economics has one of the largest concentrations of senior health economists in Australia. The calibre of our staff is evident through our research output; both in quality publications and community impact.

Many of our staff also hold fellowships and editorial roles and are regularly invited to present at major conferences.

We are also proud of the contributions our PhD students make to our discipline.

Executive staff

Professor Anthony Harris Director
Professor Michael Shields Deputy Director

Academic staff

Dr Daniel Avdic Research Fellow
Dr Samia Badji Research Fellow
Associate Professor Nicole Black (Au) Associate Professor
Ms Sara Carrillo Research Fellow
Associate Professor Gang Chen Associate Professor
Mr Peter Ghijben Senior Research Fellow
Professor David Johnston Professor
Professor Andrew Jones Professor
Dr Sonja Kassenboehmer Senior Research Fellow
Dr Umair Khalil Research Fellow
Dr Rachel Knott Research Fellow
Dr Claryn Kung Research Fellow
Dr Johannes Kunz Research Fellow
Ms Jing Bo Li Research Fellow
Ms Jing Jing Li Senior Research Fellow
Professor Maarten Lindeboom Professor
Associate Professor Duncan Mortimer Associate Professor (Research)
Head of Teaching 
Associate Professor Dennis Petrie Associate Professor
Ms Kah-Ling Sia Research Fellow
Dr Rohan Sweeney Research Fellow
Dr Maame Esi Woode Research Fellow
Ms Karen Yong Research Fellow

Professional staff

Ms Clare Austin Senior Administration Officer
Mrs Ursula Manuelpillai Resources Manager (Acting)
Ms Sharon Lakua Administrative Officer
Ms Shannon StanwellExecutive Assistant to the Director

Adjunct and honorary appointments

Professor William Greene Adjunct Professor
Professor Jan Abel Olsen Adjunct Professor 
Professor Ulf Gerdtham      Adjunct Professor
Professor Bruce Hollingsworth Adjunct Professor
Professor Emily Lancsar Adjunct Professor
Professor Carol Propper Adjunct Professor
Professor Stephen PudneyAdjunct Professor
Associate Professor Paula Lorgelly Adjunct Associate Professor
Dr Anurag Sharma Adjunct Senior Lecturer
Professor Jeff Richardson Emeritus Professor

Associate staff

Professor Brett Inder   Professor
Department of Econometrics and Business Statistics
Professor Pushkar Maitra                             Professor
Department of Economics