Economics staff directory

Leadership team

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Michael Ward
Professor
Head, Economics

E: Michael.Ward@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2307
Clayton and Caulfield campuses

  • Applied microeconomics and econometrics
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Philip Grossman
Professor
Deputy Head, Economics

E: Philip.Grossman@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0052
Clayton campus

  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Applied Micro
  • Public Economics

Academic staff

Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Klaus Abbink
Professor

E: Klaus.Abbink@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0857
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomics Theory
  • Behavioural/Experimental Economics
  • Development Economics
  • Law and Economics
  • Political Economy
  • Public Economics

Simon Angus
Associate Professor

E: Simon.Angus@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2429
Clayton campus

  • Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
  • Other General

Ayushi Bajaj
Lecturer

E: Ayushi.Bajaj@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1288
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics
  • Monetary Policy and Game Theory

Dyuti Banerjee
Senior Lecturer

E: Dyuti.Banerjee@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2332
Clayton campus

  • Industrial Organisation
  • Labour Economics
  • Microeconomics

Mita Bhattacharya
Senior Lecturer

E: Mita.Bhattacharya@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2821
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Industrial Organisation
  • Applied Micro
  • International Trade
  • Energy Economics

Ross Booth
Senior Lecturer
Course Director, B.Com and B.Ec

E: Ross.Booth@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2434
Clayton campus

  • Applied Micro
  • Sports Economics

Giovanni Caggiano
Associate Professor

E: Giovanni.Caggiano@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4516
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics and Applied Time Series Econometrics

Arthur Campbell
Associate Professor

E: Arthur.Campbell@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4420
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Industrial Organisation
  • Organisational Economics
  • Economic Theory
  • Energy Economics

Zhijun Chen
Associate Professor

E: Zhijun.Chen@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 4849
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Industrial Organisation
  • Competition Policy and Applied Microeconomics

Wenli Cheng
Senior Lecturer

E: WenLi.Cheng@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5045
Clayton campus

  • Applied Micro
  • International/Trade

Chongwoo Choe
Professor
Director, Centre for Global Business

E: Chongwoo.Choe@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2396
W: Personal website
W: Centre for Global Business website

Clayton campus

  • Microeconomics Theory
  • Applied Micro
  • Industrial organisation
  • Development Economics
  • Political Economy

Horag Choi
Associate Professor

E: Horag.Choi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2848
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • International/Trade
  • Macroeconomics

Gaurav Datt
Associate Professor

E: Gaurav.Datt@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5835
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Development Economics
  • Labour Economics

Qingyuan Du
Senior Lecturer

E: Qingyuan.Du@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4702
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • International/Trade
  • Macroeconomics
  • Development Economics

Ratbek Dzhumashev
Senior Lecturer

E: Ratbek.Dzhumashev@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 9800
Clayton campus

  • Economic Growth
  • Development Economics
  • Macroeconomics

Xiaodong Fan
Lecturer

E: Xiaodong.Fan@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2414
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Labor Economics
  • Applied Microeconomics
  • Computational Economics
  • Macroeconomics

Nick Feltovich
Professor

E: Nicholas.Feltovich@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0790
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Public Economics
  • Bargaining Theory
  • Political Economy

Lionel Frost
Head of Monash Business School, Peninsula Campus

E: Lionel.Frost@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9904 7068
Peninsula campus

  • Economic History
  • Housing
  • Urban Economics
  • Applied Micro
  • Sports Economics

Lata Gangadharan
Professor
Joe Isaac Chair

E: Lata.Gangadharan@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2345
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Environmental and Resource Economics
  • Development Economics

Wayne Geerling
Education Focused Senior Lecturer

E: Wayne.Geerling@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5482
Clayton campus

  • Economics Education
  • Economic History
  • Globalisation
  • Sports Economics

Isaac Gross
Lecturer

E: Isaac.Gross@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2019
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics

Edwyna Harris
Senior Lecturer

E: Edwyna.Harris@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2448
Clayton campus

  • Environmental and Resource Economics
  • Economic History

Asadul Islam
Associate Professor

E: Asadul.Islam@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2783
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Development Economics
  • Labour Economics
  • Health Economics

Kris Ivanovski
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

E: Kris.Ivanovski@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4425
Caulfield campus

 

Sisira Jayasuriya
Professor

E: Sisira.Jayasuriya@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4045
Caulfield campus

  • Development economics
  • Asian economies
  • Food security
  • Natural disasters
  • International trade

Gennadi Kazakevitch
Senior Lecturer

E: Gennadi.Kazakevitch@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2492
Clayton campus

  • Applied Micro

Elias Khalil
Associate Professor

E: Elias.Khalil@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2407
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Political Economy

Claudio Labanca
Lecturer

E: Claudio.Labanca@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2431
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Labor Economics
  • Public Economics
  • Economics of Migration

Paola Labrecciosa
Associate Professor

E: Paola.Labrecciosa@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 8159
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Applied Game Theory
  • Industrial Organisation
  • Public Economics
  • Operational Research

Jeffrey LaFrance
Professor

E: Jeffrey.Lafrance@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2409
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Nathaniel Lane
Lecturer

E: Nathaniel.Lane@monash.edu
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Economic Development
  • Political Economy
  • Economic History and Growth

Andreas Leibbrandt
Professor

E: Andreas.Leibbrandt@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5115
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomics Theory
  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Political Economy

Matthew Leister
Senior Lecturer

E: Matthew.Leister@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1566
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Finance
  • Social and Economic Networks

Anke Leroux
Senior Lecturer

E: Anke.Leroux@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4710
W: Personal website 
Caulfield campus

  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Gordon Leslie
Lecturer

E: Gordon.Leslie@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1326
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Energy Economics
  • Industrial Organisation
  • Competition
  • Competition Policy
  • Electricity Markets
  • Carbon Markets
  • Environmental Economics
  • Environmental Policy

John List
Distinguished Professor

E: John.List@monash.edu
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Behavioral Economics and Experimental Economics

Jakob Madsen
Professor

E: Jakob.Madsen@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 2134
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics
  • Economic History
  • Economic Growth
  • Development Economics

Gary Magee
Professor
Deputy Dean (Research)

E: Gary.Magee@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1307
Caulfield campus

  • Economic History
  • Globalisation
  • Political Economy
  • Applied Micro

Pushkar Maitra
Professor

E: Pushkar.Maitra@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5832
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Development Economics
  • Field Experiments
  • Political Economy

Vinod Mishra
Associate Professor

E: Vinod.Mishra@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 0038
Clayton campus

  • Applied Micro
  • Industrial Organisation
  • Law and Economics
  • Macroeconomics
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Solmaz Moslehi
Senior Lecturer

E: Solmaz.Moslehi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4518
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics
    (Public Economics, Political Economics, Growth, Family Economics)

Vai-Lam Mui
Associate Professor

E: Vai-Lam.Mui@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2349
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomics Theory
  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Political Economy

Jaai Parasnis
Senior Lecturer

E: Jaai.Parasnis@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2305
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Labour Economics
  • Applied Micro

Laura Puzzello
Senior Lecturer

E: Laura.Puzzello@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4517
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • International/Trade
  • Health Economics

Birendra Rai
Senior Lecturer

E: Birendra.Rai@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2371
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Behavioural/Experimental

Paul Raschky
Associate Professor

E: Paul.Raschky@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4515
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Political Economy
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Anmol Ratan
Lecturer

E: Anmol.Ratan@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0179
Clayton campus

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Behavioural/Experimental

Ranjan Ray
Professor

E: Ranjan.Ray@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9902 0276
Clayton campus

  • Development Economics
  • Public Economics and Health Economics

Michelle Rendall
Senior Lecturer

E: michelle.rendall@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4749
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics
    (Family, Labour, Human Capital, Inequality and Growth)

George Rivers
Education Focused Senior Lecturer,
Associate Dean for Research Collaboration

E: George.Rivers@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1462
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Applied Micro
  • Economics Education

Paulo Santos
Senior Lecturer

E: Paulo.Santos@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4158
Caulfield  campus

  • Development Economics
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Anupama Sethi
Scholarly Teaching Fellow

E: Anupama.Sethi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5840
Clayton campus

  • Economic Education and Development Economics

He-Ling Shi
Education Focused Associate Professor

E: He-Ling.Shi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4040
Caulfield campus

  • Economic Growth
  • Industrial Organisation
  • Economics Education

Leo Simon
Professor

E: Leo.Simon@monash.edu
Clayton campus

  • Political Economy
  • Game Theory
  • Simulation Modeling

Russell Smyth
Professor, Deputy Dean (Academic Resources)

E: Russell.Smyth@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 1560
Caulfield campus

  • Development Economics
  • Labour Economics
  • Law & Economics

Christis Tombazos
Associate Professor

E: Christis.Tombazos@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5166
Clayton campus

  • International Economics
  • Political Economy
  • Bargaining Experiments

Chengsi Wang
Senior Lecturer

E: Chengsi.Wang@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 4563
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Applied Theory (IO, search, organisation) and Competition Policy

Liang Choon Wang
Associate Professor

E: Liang.C.Wang@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 5448
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Applied Micro
  • Development Economics
  • Labour Economics
  • Public Economics

Erte Xiao
Professor

E: Erte.Xiao@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2385
W: Personal website
Clayton campus

  • Behavioural/Experimental
  • Applied Micro

Siew Ling Yew
Senior Lecturer

E: Siew.Ling.Yew@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 4412
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Macroeconomics
  • Public Finance
  • Economic Growth and Development
  • Population Economics

Yves Zenou
Professor
Richard Snape Chair

E: Yves.Zenou@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1125
W: Personal website
Caulfield campus

  • Social interactions and network theory
  • Urban economics
  • Segregation and discrimination of ethnic minorities
  • Criminality and education

Adjunct and honorary staff

  Name and contact details Areas of research interest

Daniel Brent
Adjunct Lecturer

E: Daniel.Brent@monash.edu
W: Personal website

  • Applied Microeconomics
  • Environmental Economics
  • Water Resources
  • Behavioral Economics
  • Experimental Economics

Joe Dimasi
Professorial Fellow

E: Joe.Dimasi@monash.edu

  • Regulation

Peter Forsyth
Adjunct Professor

E: Peter.Forsyth@monash.edu

  • Applied Microeconomics
  • Public Finance
  • Transport Economics
  • Economics of Tourism

Stephen King
Adjunct Professor

E: Stephen.King@monash.edu
W: Personal website

  • Microeconomic Theory
  • Industrial Organisation
  • Law and Economics

Rodney Maddock
Adjunct Professor

E: Rodney.Maddock@monash.edu

  • Australian economics
  • Banking and Finance Regulation

Sephorah Mangin
Adjunct Senior Lecturer

E: Sephorah.Mangin@monash.edu

  • Macroeconomic Theory
  • Search Theory
  • Growth

Stefan Meyer
Adjunct Research Fellow

E: Stefan.Meyer@monash.edu

  • Agricultural and Environmental Economics

Yew-Kwang Ng
Emeritus Professor

E: Kwang.Ng@monash.edu
W: Personal website

  • Public Economics
  • Environmental and Resource Economics

Andrew Oswald
Monash Warwick Adjunct Professor

E: Andrew.Oswald@monash.edu
W: Personal website

  • Economics of Happiness

Gus Sinclair
Emeritus Professor

E: Gus.Sinclair@monash.edu

  • Economic History

Professional staff

  Name and contact details

Sue Ball
Department Manager

E: Sue.Ball@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2480
Clayton campus

Harshita Rupanagudi
Executive Assistant

E: Harshita.Rupanagudi@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9905 2382
Clayton campus

Angela Kousourakis
Administrative Officer

E: Angela.Kousourakis@monash.edu
P: +61 (3) 9903 1031
Caulfield campus