2018 CCS Three minute thesis competition

3MT logo

Central Clinical School HDR students regularly compete in the "Three Minute Thesis" competition (3MT), offered in every Australian university. The CCS 3 Minute Thesis Competition is an opportunity for HDR   students to convey the relevance and importance of their research in just 3 minutes. It is an excellent opportunity to achieve a higher profile for research students and their work. The Monash 3MT finalist will then be invited to represent Monash University at the Asia-Pacific 3MT competition, which will be held in Queensland University of Queensland.

2018 CCS 3MT heat participants. L-R: Ms Ee Yu, Ms Rosie Latimer, Mr Jasper Cornish, Mr Shane Nanayakkara, Ms Anna Beale, Ms Amy Searle, Ms Amy Wilson.

2018 CCS 3MT competition details

  • Date: Thursday 21 June 2018
  • Time: 2.00 - 3.00 pm
  • Venue: Lecture Theatre, Level 5, Alfred Centre
  • The following prizes will be awarded at the Faculty 3MT Final: First Place $800, Second Place $500, Third Place $300, MPA People’s Choice Award $50 (plus entry into Monash Wildcard Competition)
  • Wildcard competition will be held to select an additional entrant in the Monash 3MT Final. The “People’s Choice” winners from each Faculty will compete against each other for a place in the Monash Final
  • See the flyer for more info
  • Rules and judging criteria can be found here.

2018 Prize winners:

  • First prize: Amy Wilson
  • Second prize: Rosie Latimer
  • Third prize: Jasper Cornish

Photo Gallery: Link

For more information on the 3MT competition, including the Faculty and Monash 3MT finals, see here

Mr Shane Nanayakkara
Supervisors: Prof David Kaye, Dr Melissa Byrne
Thesis title: Mechanisms and therapeutics of heart failure with preserved ejection fraction
Department: Baker
Ms Ee Yu
Supervisors: Prof Karlheinz Peter, Dr Xiaowei Wang
Thesis title: Platelet function after Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation (TAVI)
Department: Baker
Mr Jasper Cornish
Supervisors: Dr Raffi Gugasyan, Prof Paul Ramsland, Dr George Grigoriadis
Thesis title: The role of NF-kB1 in Fo B Cell homeostasis and function 
Department: Burnet
Ms Rosie Latimer
Supervisors: A/Prof Catriona Bradshaw, Dr Tim Read, Dr Lenka Vodstrcil, Prof Christopher Fairley
Thesis title: Mycoplasma Genitalium
Department MSHC
Ms Amy Searle
Supervisors: Prof Karlheinz Peter, Dr Xiaowei Wang
Thesis title: Bursting the bubble on abdominal aortic aneurysm: Utilising ultrasound to diagnose and selectively deliver gene therapy to the site of AAA
Department: Baker

Ms Amy Wilson
Supervisors: Prof Magdalena Plebanski, Dr Kirsty Wilson, A/Prof Mark Wright, Dr Andrew Stephens
Thesis title: Improving in vivo detection methods and immunomodulatory therapies for high-grade serous ovarian cancer
Department: Immunology 
Ms Anna Beale
Supervisors: Prof David Kaye, Dr Philippe Meyer
Thesis title: Exploring determinants of the overrepresentation of women in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction
Deaprtment: Baker

3MT Archive