Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology home

Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Meet the Head of the Department Professor Beverley Vollenhoven AM.

The Monash University Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is a clinical department within the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health (SCS). The department provides clinical teaching in the undergraduate medical student curriculum across multiple sites, and also delivers undergraduate teaching to students in two units: BME3082 (fetal and neonatal development) and PHY3181 (hormones and reproduction) in the BBiomedSc and BSc degrees.

The Department is also home to a world-leading postgraduate teaching and research program through the Education Program in Reproduction and Development and provides a series of professional short courses in basic and advanced obstetrics, gynaecology, and sexual health. The department leads innovative learning methods across its teaching portfolios and has an education research program.

Discovery and clinical research activities of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology are undertaken within the Ritchie Centre, a designated university research centre and one of Australia’s leading perinatal and women’s health research clusters. The Ritchie Centre laboratories are located in the Translational Research Facility at Monash Health and is a principal research partner of Monash Children’s Hospital and Monash Women’s Services at Monash Health. The Ritchie Centre aims to improve the health of women and children through innovative research that informs better healthcare.