Visiting scholars

Notable past visiting scholars include:

  • Professor Stephen Blum (City University of New York)
  • Professor Judith Becker, Sumarsam (Wesleyan University)
  • Anthony Seeger (UCLA)
  • Philip Bohlman (University of Chicago)
  • Anne Rasmussen (The College of William and Mary)
  • Cynthia Chou (University of Copenhagen)
  • Anthony Reid (ANU)
  • Barbara Andaya and Leonard Andaya (University of Hawaii)
  • Dr Geoffrey Benjamin (University of Singapore)
  • Dr Patricia Matusky (University of Michigan)
  • Dr Jennifer Fraser (Ohio University)
  • Dr Uwe Paetzold (Robert Schumann University of Music, Duesseldorrf)
  • Ed Herbst (Bali 1928 Repatriation Project)
  • David Hanan (retired, formerly Lecturer in Film Studies, Monash University)
  • Dr Amit Sarwal (Endeavour Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Contemporary Histories Research Group (CHRG), Deakin University)
  • Dr Tara Rajkumar AM (formerly Research Fellow, SZCSM, Monash University)
  • Dr David Mitchell (Adjunct Researcher, Music Archive of Monash University)
  • Dr Tuti Gunawan (PhD Alumna, Department of Anthropology, Monash University)
  • Ibu Spica Tutuhatunewa (Consul-General of Indonesia in Victoria and Tasmania)
  • and the late Professors Bruno Nettl (University of Illinois), Alan Merriam (Indiana University), and Jose Maceda (University of the Philippines)

Our visiting composer-scholars and artists have included:

  • A.L. Suwardi (STSI Surakarta)
  • Dr Mauly Purba (University of North Sumatra)
  • Adi Lingkepin and Dwi Saptarini (Indonesia’s Riau Islands Province’s Education, Culture and Tourism Department)