Athena SWAN Committee


Monash University Athena SWAN Committee was established in January 2016 under the leadership of Professor John Carroll, Dean Biomedical Sciences. The Committee reports to the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, which is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor.

The purpose of the Athena SWAN Committee is to:

a) Oversee, prepare and submit Monash University’s Bronze Award application
b) Oversee the implementation of Monash University Athena SWAN Action Plan (2018-2021)


We are a diverse group of individuals representing all levels of the academic community, ranging from a postgraduate student to a Dean, as well as representatives from Human Resources and Strategic Communication. Committee members also represent an appropriate balance of STEMM disciplines, gender, career stages as well as cultural and linguistically diverse backgrounds.

Project Lead

    Prof John Carroll

    Dean, Biomedical Sciences
    Director, Biomedicine Discovery Institute

STEMM Professionals

Prof Maria Garcia de la Banda

Professor, Information Technology

Prof George Simon

Deputy Dean, Engineering

A/Prof Edwina McGlinn

EMBL Australia Group Leader,
Australian Regenerative Medicine Institute

Prof JaneMaree Maher

Associate Dean Academic Development; Centre for Women's Studies and Gender Research, Sociology, Arts

Prof Michael Morgan

Head of School, School of Physics and Astronomy, Science

A Prof Yolande Strengers

Associate Dean Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, Information Technology

A Prof Michael Brown

Associate Professor, School of Physics and Astronomy, Science

Dr Susie Ho

Lecturer, School of Biological Sciences, Science

Dr Daniel Edgington-Mitchell

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering


Dr Caroline Gurvich

Research Fellow; Clinical Neuropsychologist, Monash Alfred Psychiatry Research Centre

Dr Mike McDonald

Lecturer, School of Biological Sciences, Science


HR Professionals

Dr Lucie Joschko

Manager, Staff Equity and Diversity

Janine Murray-Zaia

Director Talent, Equity and Development


The Committee will:

(i) Formulate and drive the implementation of Athena SWAN initiatives while taking into consideration the wider context of Monash University gender equity strategy.
(ii) Coordinate the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data to identify challenges and opportunities that will feed into action planning and advancing gender equality across the University.
(iii) Oversee, monitor and report on progress made against the Athena SWAN Action Plan within the organisation.
(iv) Support STEMM faculties in developing and implementing activities aimed at advancing gender equality and inclusive culture.
(v) Facilitate information sharing within STEMM faculties and act as a channel for communication with senior management on gender issues.

Terms of Reference 2020, [69kb, PDF]

2020 Meeting Dates

Date and TimeVenue
16 March, 2pm - 4pm Green Chemical Futures building, 13 Rainforest Walk, Level 3, Room 325, Clayton