Professor Danny Liew

MBBS (Hons), BMedSc, FRACP, PhD, CertHealthEcon

Professor of Clinical Outcomes Research
Co-Director, Centre of Cardiovascular Research and Education in Therapeutics

Phone: +61 3 990 30759, +61 3 990 30050 (Jill Edmonds)

Danny Liew is the Chair of Clinical Outcomes Research, Head of the Division of Clinical Epidemiology and Co-Director of the Centre of Cardiovascular Research and Education (CCRET). He is also a consultant physician at the Alfred Hospital in Clinical Pharmacology and General Medicine.

Danny undertook his clinical training at Monash University and the Alfred Hospital, following which he completed a PhD and a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine. From 2007 to 2010, he was Associate Professor at the University of Melbourne Department of Medicine (St Vincent’s Hospital) and from 2010 to 2015, he was the Chair of Clinical Epidemiology at the University of Melbourne, Director of the Melbourne EpiCentre and Head of Medical Unit 1 at the Royal Melbourne Hospital.

Danny's research capacity and interests lie in epidemiology, clinical trials, health services research and health economics. His research productivity is highlighted by over 220 peer-reviewed journal articles, 9 book chapters and over $10 million in NHMRC and ARC research funding. He is also an investigator in two CRC programs with funds in excess of $200 million.

Danny is passionate about teaching, and is involved in all levels from undergraduate courses to postdoctoral fellowships. He is currently the Head of Postgraduate Programs at the School, coordinator of the Master of Clinical Research and coordinator of the Clinical Epidemiology unit.

As testament to his clinical and academic leadership, Danny serves on multiple expert advisory committees. Current examples include the Protocol Advisory Sub-Committee (PASC) of the Commonwealth Medical Services Advisory Committee (MSAC), the Independent Medical Advisory Committee for Medicinal Cannabis for the Victorian Department of Health and the Optometry Board Scheduled Medicines Advisory Committee of the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). Previous memberships include the Commonwealth Advisory Committee on the Safety of Medicines (ACSOM) and the National Drugs and Poisons Scheduling Committee (NDPSC).