Definition of major and minor - Faculty of Arts

While course regulations specify the basic structure of any major or minor in the Faculty of Arts, different schools and centres may have specific requirements for their own discipline. Students need to be familiar with the major and minor requirements below and in addition check individual discipline requirements in the Arts areas of study section of the Handbook.


A major is three years of study in a single discipline, totalling 48 points. The major consists of:

(a.) no more than 12 points at first-year-level

(b.) no less than 12 points of second-year-level studies

(c.) no less than18 points of third-year-level studies.

Each major has specific gateway, cornerstone and capstone units that must be completed.


A minor is units in a single discipline totalling 24 points, including no more than 12 points at first-year level.

Normally students complete two first-year gateway units (12 points), followed by at least 12 points (normally two 6 point units) of study at second-year level.

NOTE: It is possible to study all units towards the minor at an advanced level. Where schools only offer a minor in this form, this will be indicated under the relevant area of study in the Handbook .

Got a question? Monash Connect can help