Structure and organisation of the faculty - Faculty of Science

The Faculty of Science at Monash is home to a vibrant, dynamic and world-renowned community at the forefront of innovation and discovery in biology, chemistry, physics and astronomy, mathematics and earth, atmospheric and environmental sciences.

Embracing the theoretical and the experimental, our research intersects with industry and government. Our scientists play a leading role on the national and international stage, collaborating with major institutions and industries worldwide. Fundamental to our vision is the training of future researchers who make a vital contribution to the Australian and global economies. Our students are taught, nurtured and mentored by scientists who are working at the cutting edge of their disciplines.

The Faculty of Science conducts undergraduate and postgraduate courses on the Clayton and Malaysia campuses. Postgraduate programs offered by the faculty include the Master of Financial Mathematics, Master of Science (MSc), Master of Philosophy (MPhil) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) which may be undertaken on-campus and by external mode.

Schools within the faculty

The faculty comprises the following six schools, each of which is responsible for carrying out teaching and research activities within the areas of expertise of their academic staff.


  • Biological Science
  • Chemistry
  • Earth, Atmosphere and Environment
  • Mathematical Sciences
  • Physics and Astronomy


  • School of Science

For more information visit the Faculty of Science website.

Got a question? Monash Connect can help